Simple Beef Short Ribs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: May 30, 2012
Really good. I make in the crock pot after browning in the pan first. Only downside is short ribs tend to be fatty, and the fat gets incorporated into the sauce. I might want to try to cool and skim the fat next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Washougal, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2012
I like this recipe and have made it several times. I have to say first off that 1 pound of ribs for 4 servings must be a misprint. I use 3 to 4 pounds of ribs. I followed the recipe as is the first time and it was good. The next time I used 1 small can of tomato sauce and 1/2 cup of beef stock and added extra garlic. This really bumped the sauce up which I then thickened and served with the ribs over wide noodles. Delish. I also find that you can use almost any beer and it will come out good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2012
These are, by far, the BEST short ribs I have ever eaten! I was skeptical that a recipe that was so simple could possibly produce such a wonderful dish --- but I was wrong. The meat was so tender and flavorful and the gravy was unbeatable. My husband and I can't stop raving over this dish! The only changes I made were due to my own preferences. I cooked 3+ pounds of ribs (they are among my husband's best-loved beef meals), I used low-salt broth and, of course, I added much more garlic than the recipe called for. Although the gravy was a good consistency, I did add about a 1/3 cup of roue as suggested. The gravy was still not at all too thick or gummy. I served the short ribs with a horseradish sauce also found at the website, baked red potatoes and steamed frozen peas. A winner all around! I can still taste its goodness hours after we've eaten and I can't thank "CooperCook" enough for this great recipe. It will certainly be a regular favorite in this house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Eatontown, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2012
Easy and delicious. I did make a mistake, and forgot to add the cup of beef broth, but they still came out delicious, with a nice gravy left over. I browned a nice crust on 1 1/2 lbs. of short ribs, each side about 5 minutes, covered and set to low. Let them cook exactly 2 hours. Next time i will remember the broth, i forgot in the microwave 2 hours earlier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Queens, New York, USA
Living In: Croton Falls, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2012
love this recipe, I don't even cook and this was easy and tasted excellent, had to use lite beer but it was still great. thank you for taking the time to share it, your mom's tradition will be passed on through my family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2012
Made these for supper and they were absolutely DELICIOUS! Just added a few more items I felt would be good to add. My Husband said "These are the best ribs I have every had". Extremely easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2012
this was an amazing recipe! the only changes I made were to, after browning meat, add to crock pot and cook on high for five hours (after which, the meat literally fell off the bones! yum!) and I quadrupled the recipe amount... and had just enough for 4 people! I used some of the liquid to make a great gravy and the remaining liquid i used the next day for a french onion soup. Just add croutons and some swiss and provolone and broil till browned. All in all, a great tasting and No-waste meal, just be sure to adjust for how many people will be eating, and it's perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SarahLaGuera

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Venice, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2012
I used boneless short ribs, which in this case were not deboned short ribs, but meat cut to resemble it but much leaner. This delivers a very different result than true short ribs. I used a dark lager instead of stout. This tasted great, but I could just as well have made a pot roast. If I make it again, I'll definitely use short ribs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Bend, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2011
Re-reading this recipe I see I forgot to add the garlic. I cooked them in my slow cooker on HI for 3 hours and then LOW for 2 hours. Truly the best meat I have ever eaten. Made delicious, mouthwatering gravy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2011
AWESOME.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsJPS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Waukesha, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 138) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Beef Short Ribs Sauerbraten

See how to make tender beef short ribs, German-style.

Sherry Braised Beef Short Ribs

See how to make tender short ribs braised in sherry.

Grilled Korean-Style Beef Short Ribs

See how to make Korean-style grilled short ribs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States