Simple Beef Short Ribs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2012
We loved these and I have made them twice now. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2012
Meat was tender and taste was okay, but this wasn't anything special. The mashed potato side stole this show, and they weren't anything special either. Oh well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HoosierMama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2012
Loved it! Swapped out the beer for a red wine and it was fabulous. I made some rustic potatoes as well. Added carrots to the dish. Very easy and very very yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2012
I used boneless beef short ribs cut into 1 inch cubes. I just salted and peppered them and browned them in oil. Didn't bother dredging them with flour cause IMHO, dredging meat in flour is rarely worth the time and effort. I added sliced carrots about an hour into simmering. And I thickened the sauce with flour before serving over noodles. Very yummy! Just needed a touch more salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2012
Made this for the hubby this weekend. So simple and so wonderful! Only change that I made was after I had everything mixed in the pan I transfered to a slow cooker. Literally fell off the bone! Husband insists that I make this instead of roast from now on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2012
Came out very tender and flavorful and we ate over noodles with sour cream. Next time, I would add some carrots while cooking to add a little more flavor/sweetness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2012
yummy and pretty simple
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2012
The sauce was great, but the ribs were not very tender even after 4 hours. Next time I will try it in the crock pot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by msimps14

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Laramie, Wyoming, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2012
These were delicious, tender and easy! My new favorite short rib recipe with these additions. I added a mix of paprika, chili powder, brown sugar, cayenne and garlic powder to the flour/salt/pepper to dredge the ribs in before browning. It gave them a delicious, crunchy crust. Place the browned ribs in a large slow cooker then cook the onions and garlic in the same skillet. Before removing the onions/garlic deglaze the pan with the beer. Pour this mixture over the ribs along with the beef stock. I also added a few squirts of Worchestershire to the liquid. Lay a large stem of rosemary and a couple stems of sage on top of everything. (If desired, add chopped carrots and mushrooms). Cook on high for 5 hours. Slightly thicken the sauce with a flour/water mix 1 hour before serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TREMAYNE1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2012
Finally a recipe that is simple (really) and tasty. The aroma of this dish cooking is enough to make you come back for more before you have even eaten it. I basically followed it except now that I look I used canola oil and not olive and I used minced garlic and not a fresh clove, oh, and I didn't have stout beer so I used a bottle of Bud (that's the only I had in my frige). I guess basically this recipe is flexible AND tasty. I served this with potato pancakes and corn. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 138) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Beef Short Ribs Sauerbraten

See how to make tender beef short ribs, German-style.

Sherry Braised Beef Short Ribs

See how to make tender short ribs braised in sherry.

Grilled Korean-Style Beef Short Ribs

See how to make Korean-style grilled short ribs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States