Simple Beef Short Ribs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2014
I had bought the short ribs on a whim and had no idea how to cook them. I followed this simple recipe and couldn't believe how delicious the dish was. It was even better the second day. The Stout gave it a dark, smoky undertaste. Next time I'll add in some carrots. I ate it over egg noodles and it was sublime. I would highly recommend this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melody Haislip

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2014
Fantastic! Thanks for a great recipe! I doubled the beef and used a 14.9 ounce can of Guiness and a full tablespoon of freshly minced garlic. It's even more delicious the next day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Life Tastes Good

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2014
Strong beer taste
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Westerville, Ohio, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2014
I loved it, so did my husband. I did use 32oz beef broth and added egg noodles to this. It turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2014
Soupy, bland and boring.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2014
Excellent but needed a bit more flavor for our taste so added some "Better than Bouillon" beef flavor. Also, as other reviewer mentioned good to have next day so can skim away cooled fat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2014
beef too tough
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2014
I made them for Sunday supper by cooking all afternoon in the crock pot. They turned out tender and delicious. I made Grandma's buttered noodes from this site. It was a real comfort food on a cold winter evening.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Birch Run, Michigan, USA
Living In: Bay City, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2014
Didn't like the beer. The ribs came out tender but had the bitter flavor of the beer. The beer also ruined the sauce. The sauce was extremely bitter. I salvaged the sauce, I had only added half the beer before I realized the sauce was going the wrong way. Added milk, some sugar, pepper, salt and cinnamon to save it. Added water and it was decent, bitter taste was gone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2014
This was easy and delicious. I wanted a recipe that didn't use the crockpot or take all day. Using what I had on hand, I used red wine instead of beer and chicken stock. Great with mashed potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nancy

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Syracuse, New York, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 144) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sherry Braised Beef Short Ribs

See how to make tender short ribs braised in sherry.

Beef Short Ribs Sauerbraten

See how to make tender beef short ribs, German-style.

Grilled Korean-Style Beef Short Ribs

See how to make Korean-style grilled short ribs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States