Simple Beef Short Ribs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2014
Loved it, added 2 cups Red wine, 3 carrots, celery and fresh garlic. Used chicken broth and a bay leaf. I also simmered 1 hr longer. Meat was so tender you could cut it with a fork.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2014
My family and I loved this. Very flavorful and simple recipe. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2014
I've made this twice and it's so great, i would'nt make short ribs any other way. They're expensive these days so this recipe does them justice. The browning sort of carmelizes them and the long cook time makes them fall off the bone, not something I usually accomplish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Riverside, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2014
Made it in the crock pot! Tender and delicious. A definite keeper for cold winter days.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2014
This recipe is wonderful. Like a few others, I don't like BBQ sauce on my short ribs. We love the flavor of these. My only change is I didn't use beer - substituted more beef broth. Cooked in a crock pot. Prepared brown rice and used the sauce/drippings over everything. We can't get enough of this meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KHONEY1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2014
First time cooking beef short ribs and this recipe made them turn out great! I will be using this recipe again. I also turned the remaining liquid into a gravy, so yummy! The boyfriend liked it, too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mandy Kay

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2014
I had bought the short ribs on a whim and had no idea how to cook them. I followed this simple recipe and couldn't believe how delicious the dish was. It was even better the second day. The Stout gave it a dark, smoky undertaste. Next time I'll add in some carrots. I ate it over egg noodles and it was sublime. I would highly recommend this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melody Haislip

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2014
Fantastic! Thanks for a great recipe! I doubled the beef and used a 14.9 ounce can of Guiness and a full tablespoon of freshly minced garlic. It's even more delicious the next day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Life Tastes Good

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2014
Strong beer taste
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Westerville, Ohio, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2014
I loved it, so did my husband. I did use 32oz beef broth and added egg noodles to this. It turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 140) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Beef Short Ribs Sauerbraten

See how to make tender beef short ribs, German-style.

Sherry Braised Beef Short Ribs

See how to make tender short ribs braised in sherry.

Grilled Korean-Style Beef Short Ribs

See how to make Korean-style grilled short ribs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States