Simple Beef Pot Roast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2014
Used my cast iron dutch oven as pot. BEST roast ever!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2014
Was in the mood to cook this afternoon, so I tried this. I loved my mother's pot roast, but haven't found the right combination to enjoy having it very often until today. My husband said it was "really good", and I enjoyed it very much. I used fresh rosemary, but otherwise, pretty much as written. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2014
I have made this recipe a few times but i cook it in my dutch oven. It is spicy, so i serve it with sour cream ( which helps with the spice),flour tortillas, and a side of mexican rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2014
This was the best and easiest pot roast ever! My entire family gobbled it up! I added minced garlic that's it!!! We served it with mashed potatoes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erika D. Melrose

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mesquite, Texas, USA
Living In: Frisco, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2014
I followed this recipe exactly, except I increased the quantity of vegetables, would say I tripled it. It is so good! I made plain mashed potatoes though. We loved it as a roast. The next day, I added some gravy to the leftover vegetables, diced up the leftover beef and made a pie, like a shepherd's pie (though beef), using the leftover mashed potatoes on top. I added some parmesan cheese into the mashed potatoes and then sprinkled some on top when it was nearly done. And.... I did not have to use all of the meat/vegetable/gravy mixture so I saved it and with the help of canned chopped tomatoes and beef consommé (and some additional potatoes and onions) made delicious soup. Three meals out of Chef John's fantastic simple beef pot roast recipe. Note, I did have about a 4.5 pound beef roast. Every permutation of it was a winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by maggieroze

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ypsilanti, Michigan, USA
Living In: Huddersfield, Yorkshire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2014
Followed instructions exactly and the roast came out perfectly. Husband and son loved it and always ask me to make it for them. Thanks John!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JULIARENE

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2014
The BEST roast I have ever cooked. My husband told me to throw out my other recpies. I did add a little beef broth to make sure it didn't stick. I have this in my oven right now and the smell is Heavenly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ashland, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Maineville, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2014
This was so good. Very simple and DELICIOUS. I had a 4# roast so I added more onion and celery. I had plenty of liquid in my pan (make sure you cover it). Served over mashed potatoes. *****
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FrackFamily5

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Catasauqua, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Corona, California, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2014
Fantastic. So easy and just perfect. Obviously the cooking time will vary based on your oven and the size of your roast...you've got to handle that part for yourself! I used the "English Prime Rib Rub" from Penzey's to season it. Was in the oven after about 20 minutes of prep and made for a terrific Sunday dinner. I served with horseradish mashed potatoes just like Chef John suggested. Also served with steamed asparagus and broccoli. This is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Seth Kolloen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Photo by npoirier
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2014
This was delicious. Didn't change a single thing other than the amount of meat (2 lbs.).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by npoirier

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 100) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Simple Beef Pot Roast

See how to make the world’s easiest pot roast.

Slow Cooker Beef Pot Roast

Come home to a delicious slow-cooked pot roast dinner.

Beef Pot Roast

This delicious pot roast is best made a day before serving.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States