Simple Beef Pot Roast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2015
Awesome. Made this dish several times as is. One small adjustment--less salt and whole baby carrots and celery cut in 2 inch chunks. Veggie texture a little firmer in the butter sauce. No broth addition necessary. Thanks, Chef John!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by random gourmet

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Malvern, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2015
It's so satisfying when something so simple tastes so good. I don't like to have to watch over stuff in the kitchen so this recipe suits me just fine -- 15 minutes of prep and you're done!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by clubby981

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Allen Park, Michigan, USA
Living In: West Bloomfield, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2015
When I made this dish it was my first time doing a roast oven baked. the only thing I did differently was I added minced garlic to the onions, carrots and celery. The meat came out so tender it just fell apart beautifully. And the dried rosemary really added that special flavor. I'm making it again tonight but I am going to add a little more seasoning to the beef. Although the dish was absolutely delicious as was...I felt like the beef itself could have used a little more flavoring! Definitely a favorite! M
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2015
It is Chef John, nothing more to say!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sean Fox

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bellingham, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2015
I have to say I am from the Midwest and picky about my meat. This was delicious, mouthwatering, wonderful good! The vegetables give this out of this world good flavor. A keeper for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lime Springs, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2015
This is a wonderful, easy to prepare dish. I use a mortar and pestle to grind the rosemary because I don't care for whole rosemary leaves. I use sea salt which I also grind along with freshly ground pepper. I do not change the recipe except for the preparation of the seasonings. This is great with Yorkshire pudding. Great job Chef!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan Holmes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2015
Well.... I followed it exactly, but the meat came out swimming in liquid! What happened? Anyone? It would have made great gravy, if I wasn't trying to lose weight, I suppose... And the pot roast and veggies were great.... But I felt as though the meat BOILED! Any thoughts? Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2015
This was fantastic! I followed the recipe exactly except that my roast was smaller and I cut the cooking time (1.5 lb roast for 2 hours). My husband does not usually like pot roast but thought this was really good. Thanks, Chef John, I can always count on you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2015
It's wonderful! I have made it twice now, both times exactly to the recipe. The first time I served with the horseradish mashed potatoes-excellent. The second time with roasted little potatoes-also excellent. I think it has be served with potatoes so the butter gravy can be used!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2015
Cooked roast according to directions but came out extremely dry; I did use different vegetables I had on hand and those cooked just fine. All in all I don't think I'll be using this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jane Burns

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 162) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Simple Beef Pot Roast

See how to make the world’s easiest pot roast.

Slow Cooker Beef Pot Roast

Come home to a delicious slow-cooked pot roast dinner.

Beef Pot Roast

This delicious pot roast is best made a day before serving.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States