Simple Beef Flavored Gravy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2012
I am on a special diet and made some simple changes to reduce the salt. Like many others I sautéed the onions but in coconut oil instead of butter (Coconut oil helps reduce cholesterol). I then made the roux with the flour. Instead of bullion I used beef base to reduce the salt. For added flavor I added some burgundy powder I found at my local spice store.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2012
Delicious! This gravy has so much flavor. I did follow the suggestions from the other reviews. I will definitely try this with chicken bouillon for a yummy chicken gravy. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2012
This was great! I needed gravy for my beef and noodles and this was it. I sauteed the onion in butter, added flour to brown just as the others suggested, but I used 1 1/2 cup broth from the roast in place of the water- PERFECT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim D

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2012
This was very good gravy. I made it the way inguri suggested. My girlfriend added some gravy master to the mix though. She's always stepping on my toes, nothing I do is good enough for her.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TVdinnerConnoisseur

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2012
Simple and makes a fine gravy! Made as directed only omitting the onion as the kid doesn't like them. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Bloomingdale, Michigan, USA
Living In: Allegan, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2012
I love this recipe! Thank you i added a few things just to spice it up i added pepper, garlic and chicken and seafood seasoning to the onions just a little to give them some flavor. i added extra onion and made sure they were nice and done since we love onion! made home made mashed potatoes and some steak covered in gravy came out perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2012
Quick and taste good. Easy to fix for 2.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2012
I can honestly say this was my first attempt at making "fake gravy" without using meet drippings.... honestly I can say this recipe is not half bad...... I heated the water dissolved the bouillon cubes added the onions and half the butter... then i stirred flour with a little water to dissolved and slowly added that to thicken... it seemed to work however the other reviewer seemed to make sence about sauteing the onion then adding the flour and then the water with the bouillon... either way it turn out good for me...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2011
My husband loves gravy on his potato and fries. This is an easy gravy and lots of flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Syracuse, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2011
Pretty good. I may cut back on the flour by about a tablespoon next time though. My 7-year-old daughter loved it on her mashed potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 255) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Ever Crab Cakes

Delicious, homemade crab cakes that come together quickly.

Salmon with Brown Sugar Glaze

Oven broiled salmon fillets with sweet Dijon mustard sauce.

Potatoes Au Gratin

Learn how to make this creamy, cheesy casserole—a favorite all year long.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States