Simple Beef Flavored Gravy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2012
1 onion seemed to be too much onion, so I scaled down to 1/2 an onion and the gravy had a strong taste of onion still (I did make sure I sauteed the onion first in the butter until soft/tender). I used a medium sized yellow onion. If you really like the taste of onions in your gravy, then this recipe might be ok for you, it just wasn't to our liking. Follow the other reviews on instructions to make the gravy (making roux first, then add your liquid and bouillon).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lake Villa, Illinois, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2012
My changes: 2 c hot water, 2 beef bouillon cubes, 1/2 onion, 1 tsp garlic powder, 1 1/2 tbs butter, and little less than 1/4 c flour. Put all ingredients into my Vitamix blender and blended on high for 4-5 mins till steam was coming from vents and gravy was heated through. Easy, tasty, and no saucepan to clean!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2012
Best and easiest gravy ever! I used Land O lakes unsalted butter (trying to reduce sodium content) instead. My first written review!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2012
Great recipe! I used broth in a box instead of water, then added an envelope of unsalted beef bullion, and onion powder instead of fresh onions.... later added beef drippings from roast beef out of the oven. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2012
This just didn't work for us at all. I followed the recipe, but using the classic roux method. My husband asked "where's the beef?". This tasted to me like a canned onion gravy. He did say it was ok over mashed potatoes, but asked me not to make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lucylove

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Wesley Chapel, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2012
Awesome and super easy. I just used onion powder and it turned out fine. Put it through strainer because some of flour clumped up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2012
Terriffic! Did this in these steps: Sauteed the onion then removed it from the pan the melted the remaining butter and slowly added the flour stirring until browned lightly like a roux, then added the water & bouillion...mmmmm... Wonderful! THNAKS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2012
Was a great recipe for gravy. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jo Riker
Reviewed: May 8, 2012
Good gravy, easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2012
Super easy and delicious. Used Better than Bouillion. Added some mushrooms, but would be fine without.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FSQUEEN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Palm Bay, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 246) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

French Dip Sandwiches and Tangy Slaw

See how to make a hot and cheesy sandwich with sweet and tangy slaw.

Italian Chicken Skillet

See how to make an Italian-inspired, one-skillet chicken and pasta dinner.

Potatoes Au Gratin

Learn how to make this creamy, cheesy casserole—a favorite all year long.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States