Simple Beef Flavored Gravy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2013
A simple and easy homemade gravy to accompany any roast meat dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsAris

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2012
quick and easy= awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nolan Blyth

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2012
Eh, it was alright. I was excited to get a recipe for brown gravy cause I don't like turkey gravy and the store stuff is terrible for you, but this was disappointing. Next time I would halve the flour, double the bouillon, and add salt. I didn't put in onion, but I did onion powder, and I added about 1/2 cup of chicken broth. I'll keep looking, thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eponine

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2012
Great easy way to make beef gravy. I didn't have any onions oh hand, so I used about one teaspoon of minced garlic. I also added some onion powder and Worcestershire. Family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2012
Very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2012
Made this without the onions, but with onion powder. Simple to prepare. I used beef broth instead of water, as well. Went well with mashed potatoes and cajun meatloaf.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2012
This is hands down the best gravy I've ever had. I used it to top leftover Eileen's Meatloaf (also on this site) and mashed potatoes - delicious! I eyeballed the recipe as changing the servings skewed the numbers. I chopped down half an onion and sauteed in butter, roughly 6T, until softened. While that was cooking, I mixed 3 beef bullion cubes in 2 cups of hot water and set aside. I browned about 2 1/2 T flour, stirring constantly, then poured in the bullion water. Switched to a whisk immediately and swirled it the entire time the gravy thickened. I wasn't satisfied with the color so I added a few drops of Gravymasters - oh yes. Heaven. We found ourselves getting more meatloaf just to get the gravy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Wilmington, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2012
Nice and simple. easy to adjust for chicken or pork1
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by grandmama

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Oxnard, California, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2012
I was really impressed with this recipe; I did as recommended by other reviewers-sauteed the onions, whisked in the flour, etc.-then mixed in cooked hamburger and some frozen peas, straight from the freezer. Cooked it for another 5 minutes or so and voila! The peas were just the right touch, they balanced the onion and the bouillion and added just enough sweetness. I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2012
1 onion seemed to be too much onion, so I scaled down to 1/2 an onion and the gravy had a strong taste of onion still (I did make sure I sauteed the onion first in the butter until soft/tender). I used a medium sized yellow onion. If you really like the taste of onions in your gravy, then this recipe might be ok for you, it just wasn't to our liking. Follow the other reviews on instructions to make the gravy (making roux first, then add your liquid and bouillon).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lake Villa, Illinois, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

Displaying results 41-50 (of 245) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

French Dip Sandwiches and Tangy Slaw

See how to make a hot and cheesy sandwich with sweet and tangy slaw.

Italian Chicken Skillet

See how to make an Italian-inspired, one-skillet chicken and pasta dinner.

Potatoes Au Gratin

Learn how to make this creamy, cheesy casserole—a favorite all year long.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States