Simple Beef Flavored Gravy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2013
I have never made homemade gravy before let alone brown gravy tried this recipe and LOVE IT! I used beef stock instead of water and used minced onion because i didnt have a real raw onion. Still turned out perfect yummy! Also try southern style buiscuits and dip that in the gravy delicous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2013
Substitute onion powder for chopped onion and only used two bouillon cubes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2013
So easy and so good. I left out the onion, and used beef broth that I had left over from cooking a pot roast that had onions in it. This will now be my new go-to gravy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lori

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2013
I boiled the water and bouillon first, (2 c water, 2 soft beef bullion), I added the 1/4 stick butter and then 1/3 c all purpose flour, pepper to taste. This was the best gravy I ever made, t is much better than the envelope gravy when your in a bind. Oh, I didn't use onions because my hubby hates them, still a phenomenal recipe! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2013
super easy! I did add some milk to my water... :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maggie C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2013
i have been trying for some time now to master homemade gravy it tastes so much better than store bought so i found this recipe my husband want going on and on how good it was and it was yummy i made mashed potatoes from a recipe here and let me tell you they were delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by COUNTRYCOOKING15329

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Avella, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Prosperity, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2013
What a delicious, simple gravy! I usually just make gravy from a packet, but I forgot one when I was last at the store, so I thought I'd try this and it was great! I made a roux from the butter and flour, then added in the boullion cubes and water (no onions as my husband cannot have them). Using real butter made it taste so rich and delicious--mmmm. I'll be making this in place of the packet gravy from now on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ponytail Goddess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Freeport, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2013
Wonderful recipe that is great as is, but can also be modified to suit your personal taste. I used 3 teaspoons of onion soup mix in place of the bouillon since I didn't have any on hand, beef stock instead of water (I had some in the fridge I needed to use up before it went bad!) and then left out the onions and this couldn't have been a tastier gravy! This accompanied my meatloaf and mashed potatoes perfectly. My two picky eaters gobbled up their potatoes and said it was the best gravy ever! I do agree with the other reviewers though that there is a specific process to making this gravy. Definitely melt the butter first, then whisk in the flour until slightly browned, and lastly, add the water/bouillon/broth and keep whisking until thickened.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Brainerd, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: May 28, 2013
very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2013
Really easy and perfect weight when prepared with a roux. I will used less onion next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cupertino, California, USA
Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 254) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Ever Crab Cakes

Delicious, homemade crab cakes that come together quickly.

Salmon with Brown Sugar Glaze

Oven broiled salmon fillets with sweet Dijon mustard sauce.

Potatoes Au Gratin

Learn how to make this creamy, cheesy casserole—a favorite all year long.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States