Simple Beef Flavored Gravy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2009
Very easy-thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2009
Amazingly simple - great little quickly recipe! I usually make a roux and do this in order, but you don't have to. Just throw it all in and use a whisk until its thick and smooth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by suzicat

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Key Largo, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2009
Super yummy and simple!! I used chicken broth instead of bouillon cubes and onion powder vs. real onions. Turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2009
I used two boullion cubes to 1 1/2 c. water. it was too salty for my taste. But an easy recipe. Will alter for better taste next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orange City, Florida, USA
Living In: Deltona, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2009
this was a quick and easy gravy to make that came out great, i took the advise of other and used half the butter first to saute onions till browned, then put in other half with flour to make roux, and then disolved 4 boullion cubes in hot water added to pot and whisked till it was thick then added pepper. will make this again. thx Sal
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AllenMichael

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Chula Vista, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2009
I thought this was an easy and tasty recipe. I thought it was too salty, so next time I will reduce the beef bouillon to two tsp. and hope that does the trick. For you first time gravy makers: I've learned that you need to put the thickening agent (flour, corn starch, etc.) in the water first to completely dissolve it and then add the rest of the ingredients and put the heat on. This recipe says to do that but others I've tried didn't and I've made many lumpy gravies. If you feel you need to add more flour, dissolve it in a bowl with a little water and then add it to the hot gravy mixture. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Dayton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2009
Love this! So easy and delicious- I'll never buy another packet of gravy again! This recipe is perfect when you don't have pan drippings to work from. I make it as-is and have tried suggestions from other reviewers such as using Kitchen Bouquet for browning. Great either way. I've also used my immersion blender to make it nice and smooth, as the first time I made it I ended up with some onion chunks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2009
Quick, easy, delicious, and chemical free! I used organic beef broth instead of the bouillon and water, and coconut oil instead of the butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kimmhunt

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by BreeAnn
Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2009
This was great for a quick last minute gravy. I didn't want to freak the kids out with chunks of onions so I used onion powder, but otherwise, everyone enjoyed it. I was making a very quick last minute meal and this was perfect, I'll definetly be using this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BreeAnn

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Palmer, Alaska, USA
Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2009
Perfect for poutine! We loved this recipe. Browned the onions in butter added flour and made a roux. Mixed the bouillon and water together then added to the roux. Simmered for 10 minutes. MMM
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by s|||n

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 250) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Best Ever Crab Cakes

Delicious, homemade crab cakes that come together quickly.

Salmon with Brown Sugar Glaze

Oven broiled salmon fillets with sweet Dijon mustard sauce.

Roast Potatoes

Quick, flavorful roasted red potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States