Simple Beef Flavored Gravy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Photo by TRE8JSE
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2011
Made this gravy to go on top of fries for the Poutine recipe from this site. I did not change any ingredients, but I did do things a little different. First, I sauteed the onions with butter. Then I added the flour and rest of the butter. After that was browned, I added in the bouillon and the water. It turned out very good! Thanks! I will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TRE8JSE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2011
Made this last night with chicken bouillon. Not great gravy, by all means, but a nice recipe to have in a pinch. It will always be better if there are some pan drippings to add.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Annapolis, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2011
I've made it this way several times, melting the butter with the onion, addint the flour, stir til smooth and bubbly, then add the beef broth(the boullion and the water) whisking til smooth and thick. I also have added a little kitchen bouquet and you have a nice color!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cheryl

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2011
very similar to the gravy i've been making for yrs...i use bisquik and milk though...good stick to your ribs gravy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Monica Johnson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2011
As far as color for any beef based dishes I've always relied on a product available in most all food stores...Kitchen Bouquet. It's what my Mom always used and adds some taste and rich color to beef based dinners. Takes very little. Use it also when I cook a roast and spread over outside of meat before cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
Excellent and easy gravy. Onions are key to the flavor. Best to saute the onions in the butter and then use Wondra flour which mixes quickly without lumps to make a roux. Then add the broth and cook to thicken. I used canned beef broth and it came out fantastic for Christmas dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2010
For the life of me I can't figure out why some people's photos show white gravy! I made this because I made a roast and didn't have any beef broth or very many drippings to use for the rue. I followed the suggestion to brown the onion first and using my microplane (food rasp) to make sure the onions were fine enough and they definitely were. I added three cups of water and four bouillon cubes as another reviewer suggested and let that come to a boil while creating the rue in a small saucepan. If you let the butter and flour get really browned up that will add color to your gravy, as will the bouillon cubes. I added the rue to the broth, whisked it up to make sure there were no lumps and left it boiling on the stove for about 15 minutes so it would cook down. I also eventually added a few tablespoons of drippings from my roast, which I'm sure added a great flavor, but even without it I think this gravy is pretty solid. (Solid in quality, not in viscosity.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2010
I made this tonight with beef patties. I let it simmer to thicken in the pan with the patties. It turned out great! I was afraid mine would turn out white like in the picture, but it turned out brown. I also used buillon cubes instead of granules, and less onions (not an onion lover). It was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portsmouth, Virginia, USA
Living In: Morristown, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2010
OMG first time EVER I made lumpless gravy that wasn't a packet.Followed reviews and melted butter with onions then added flour.THANK YOU for recipe and reviews!!I also tried it without onions,just added pepper and garlic powder.Yummy!!I did not have bouillon so used beef broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Okanagan, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2010
Very good taste! We served it over hamburger patties and rice. The only thing I changed was that I used dehydrated onions about 4 tbsp instead on fresh cut onion which softened nicely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 259) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Ever Crab Cakes

Delicious, homemade crab cakes that come together quickly.

Salmon with Brown Sugar Glaze

Oven broiled salmon fillets with sweet Dijon mustard sauce.

Potatoes Au Gratin

Learn how to make this creamy, cheesy casserole—a favorite all year long.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States