Simple Beef Flavored Gravy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2011
great. sauted onions in butter and then added flour and made a rue. brown rue lightly. used canned beef broth and teaspoon tones beef base.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2011
really good loved it makes the best gravy for beef stew
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alishia Marie Toth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2011
Used Extra Virgin Olive Oil instead of the butter and it was really good. Will use this when I need a gravy and don't have enough drippings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Redwood City, California, USA
Living In: San Mateo, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2011
Wow, great recipe! I followed other suggestions of cooking the butter and flour together first after the first batch didn't turn out. I used garlic powder and onion powder for taste and also a bit of Worchestershire (spelling?) sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SuperMom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tofield, Alberta, Canada
Reviewed: May 5, 2011
Excellent recipe. I added about 1 tbs of browning sauce to give it a deeper richer flavor and color.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2011
I have been making this gravy for years. the only addition is Gravy Master about a teaspoon. To give it a rich brown color. Also try mushrooms.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrCrackers

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2011
Followed the recipe, except instead of flour I cooked all the ingredients together and before serving added a small amount of cornstarch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2011
Although I think this recipe would be awesome as is, some minor tweaks ensured I'll never buy prepared beef gravy again. I cut back the water to 1-1/4 cup, cut the onion back to about 1/4 of a large onion and stirred in 1/3 cup of sour cream after thickening. Served with pot roast and vegy's. Delicious and very quick and easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2011
This is simple, but definitely not a gravy as listed. I made a meatloaf and had no meat drippings, so I was looking for a quick subtitute gravy. Based on the cook temperature and the ingredients it ends up as flour thickened hard onions. I did only half the onion as it seemed like quite a bit, but that wouldn't change the texture. To thin it out I had to adjust it by adding quite a bit more water and then simmering on (low) until the onions had time to soften. It worked, we ate it, but it was only acceptable and I found it to be extrememly salty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holiday Baker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Photo by Loves2Cook
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2011
We made a beef roast that did not produce much juices, so I was happy to find this recipe. Made it as written except I subbed dried onion for the chopped onion. Added the juices we did have from the roast then ran it all through a strainer. The gravy was great in a pinch. Thanks for such a helpful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Loves2Cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Strongsville, Ohio, USA

Displaying results 91-100 (of 250) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Best Ever Crab Cakes

Delicious, homemade crab cakes that come together quickly.

Salmon with Brown Sugar Glaze

Oven broiled salmon fillets with sweet Dijon mustard sauce.

Roast Potatoes

Quick, flavorful roasted red potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States