Simple Beef Flavored Gravy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2011
How refreshingly easy! I was in a pinch, needed something fast and uncomplicated so I kept my fingers crossed while following this to a tee. I literally threw all 5 ingredients into the pot, brought it to a boil & waited. Less than 15 minutes later, perfection! I used beef "Better Than Bouillon", 1/2 of a large Vidalia onion (diced not chopped) & unsalted Amish butter as these are what I had on hand and the flavor of this quick, no work gravy surpassed expectations. A keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2011
Excellent base. I added pork roast pan dripping and the gravy turned our velvety and very, very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2011
Nice recipe to have in your file. I thought I had some beef bouillon in the cupboard but, there I go thinking again! I used a can of beef broth and half of a large onion and followed the recipe. My guest really loved it! I made this to go with the Meatloaf Cordon Bleu from this site and it was a great pairing of flavors. Next time I would use the beef broth plus 1 or 2 tsp of bouillon for a richer beef taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Royall

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tacoma, Washington, USA
Living In: Keaau, Hawaii, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2011
My go-to gravy! I use chicken bouillon because its what I always have on hand. Even when I use only a 1/2 an onion it still comes out perfect every time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2011
Made with canned beef broth and the drippings from a roast - wonderful flavour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SierraEchoHotel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kingston, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2011
Perfect for my steaks simmering right now with this as it will be perfect for my rice as well. Taste teste and well, I forgot the packet at the store, found this...I will completely FORGET the packets from now on. Thank you so much for this easy recipe and flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KJsLady

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2011
not really crazy about this recipe. We like a darker brown gravey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen McCleane Mullin

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Atlantic City, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2011
Delicious. I followed another reviewers advice and sauteed onion in butter first until tender, then i whisked flour in to make roux. Then water and bouillon. I used about 2 1/2 cups water though because gravy too thick. Even my picky son loves it. Thank you for recipe Sal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2011
This was a very great gravy!! The only thing i did that was different was that i used cake flour it creates a smoother gravy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LOVE_mygirls

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spooner, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2011
This was not to my liking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Scarsdale, New York, USA
Living In: Healdsburg, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 245) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

French Dip Sandwiches and Tangy Slaw

See how to make a hot and cheesy sandwich with sweet and tangy slaw.

Potatoes Au Gratin

Learn how to make this creamy, cheesy casserole—a favorite all year long.

Rhubarb Berry Jam

See how to make blueberry and rhubarb jam.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States