Simple Beef Flavored Gravy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2012
Great easy way to make beef gravy. I didn't have any onions oh hand, so I used about one teaspoon of minced garlic. I also added some onion powder and Worcestershire. Family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2012
Very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2012
Made this without the onions, but with onion powder. Simple to prepare. I used beef broth instead of water, as well. Went well with mashed potatoes and cajun meatloaf.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2012
This is hands down the best gravy I've ever had. I used it to top leftover Eileen's Meatloaf (also on this site) and mashed potatoes - delicious! I eyeballed the recipe as changing the servings skewed the numbers. I chopped down half an onion and sauteed in butter, roughly 6T, until softened. While that was cooking, I mixed 3 beef bullion cubes in 2 cups of hot water and set aside. I browned about 2 1/2 T flour, stirring constantly, then poured in the bullion water. Switched to a whisk immediately and swirled it the entire time the gravy thickened. I wasn't satisfied with the color so I added a few drops of Gravymasters - oh yes. Heaven. We found ourselves getting more meatloaf just to get the gravy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Wilmington, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2012
Nice and simple. easy to adjust for chicken or pork1
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by grandmama

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Oxnard, California, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2012
I was really impressed with this recipe; I did as recommended by other reviewers-sauteed the onions, whisked in the flour, etc.-then mixed in cooked hamburger and some frozen peas, straight from the freezer. Cooked it for another 5 minutes or so and voila! The peas were just the right touch, they balanced the onion and the bouillion and added just enough sweetness. I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2012
1 onion seemed to be too much onion, so I scaled down to 1/2 an onion and the gravy had a strong taste of onion still (I did make sure I sauteed the onion first in the butter until soft/tender). I used a medium sized yellow onion. If you really like the taste of onions in your gravy, then this recipe might be ok for you, it just wasn't to our liking. Follow the other reviews on instructions to make the gravy (making roux first, then add your liquid and bouillon).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lake Villa, Illinois, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2012
My changes: 2 c hot water, 2 beef bouillon cubes, 1/2 onion, 1 tsp garlic powder, 1 1/2 tbs butter, and little less than 1/4 c flour. Put all ingredients into my Vitamix blender and blended on high for 4-5 mins till steam was coming from vents and gravy was heated through. Easy, tasty, and no saucepan to clean!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2012
Best and easiest gravy ever! I used Land O lakes unsalted butter (trying to reduce sodium content) instead. My first written review!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2012
Great recipe! I used broth in a box instead of water, then added an envelope of unsalted beef bullion, and onion powder instead of fresh onions.... later added beef drippings from roast beef out of the oven. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 242) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

French Dip Sandwiches and Tangy Slaw

See how to make a hot and cheesy sandwich with sweet and tangy slaw.

Potatoes Au Gratin

Learn how to make this creamy, cheesy casserole—a favorite all year long.

Rhubarb Berry Jam

See how to make blueberry and rhubarb jam.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States