Simple Beef Flavored Gravy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2009
Fabulous gravy. I typically buy a can or powdered gravy when I am not roasting but that has all changed. I will be making my gravy from scratch from now on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2009
I can't believe how delicious this gravy is! I made it two nights in a row. I used 1 1/2 cups water, 3 beef bouillon cubes, 1/4 cup flour, 1/4 cup butter and pepper, garlic powder and onion powder to taste. Very good considering the ease of preparation. I like mine over rice with a beef patty. A few shakes of Worchestershire sauce in the gravy adds a nice richness as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by That Winsome Girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Princeton, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2009
Really easy and good! I made this vegetarian by using no-chicken boullion. I did as other people did- sauteed the onion, added the flour and sauteed for a bit to create a sort-of roux, then added the boullion & water (that I had already heated and mixed). Came out beautifully!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ali McCance

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2009
Awesome... I did chop the onions as small as I could and sauted them in the butter then added the flour and then the boullion/water mix. Turned out better than my family's passed down recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Traycee:o)

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Orland Park, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2009
it tasted great! i too cooked the onions in the butter first (big slices just for flavor because my kids won't touch them) and added the additional ingredients. nice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2009
Very easy-thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2009
Amazingly simple - great little quickly recipe! I usually make a roux and do this in order, but you don't have to. Just throw it all in and use a whisk until its thick and smooth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by suzicat

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Key Largo, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2009
Super yummy and simple!! I used chicken broth instead of bouillon cubes and onion powder vs. real onions. Turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2009
I used two boullion cubes to 1 1/2 c. water. it was too salty for my taste. But an easy recipe. Will alter for better taste next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orange City, Florida, USA
Living In: Deltona, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2009
this was a quick and easy gravy to make that came out great, i took the advise of other and used half the butter first to saute onions till browned, then put in other half with flour to make roux, and then disolved 4 boullion cubes in hot water added to pot and whisked till it was thick then added pepper. will make this again. thx Sal
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AllenMichael

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Chula Vista, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 255) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Best Ever Crab Cakes

Delicious, homemade crab cakes that come together quickly.

Salmon with Brown Sugar Glaze

Oven broiled salmon fillets with sweet Dijon mustard sauce.

Potatoes Au Gratin

Learn how to make this creamy, cheesy casserole—a favorite all year long.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States