Simple Beef Flavored Gravy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2009
I thought this was an easy and tasty recipe. I thought it was too salty, so next time I will reduce the beef bouillon to two tsp. and hope that does the trick. For you first time gravy makers: I've learned that you need to put the thickening agent (flour, corn starch, etc.) in the water first to completely dissolve it and then add the rest of the ingredients and put the heat on. This recipe says to do that but others I've tried didn't and I've made many lumpy gravies. If you feel you need to add more flour, dissolve it in a bowl with a little water and then add it to the hot gravy mixture. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Dayton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2009
Love this! So easy and delicious- I'll never buy another packet of gravy again! This recipe is perfect when you don't have pan drippings to work from. I make it as-is and have tried suggestions from other reviewers such as using Kitchen Bouquet for browning. Great either way. I've also used my immersion blender to make it nice and smooth, as the first time I made it I ended up with some onion chunks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2009
Quick, easy, delicious, and chemical free! I used organic beef broth instead of the bouillon and water, and coconut oil instead of the butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kimmhunt

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by BreeAnn
Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2009
This was great for a quick last minute gravy. I didn't want to freak the kids out with chunks of onions so I used onion powder, but otherwise, everyone enjoyed it. I was making a very quick last minute meal and this was perfect, I'll definetly be using this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BreeAnn

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Palmer, Alaska, USA
Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2009
Perfect for poutine! We loved this recipe. Browned the onions in butter added flour and made a roux. Mixed the bouillon and water together then added to the roux. Simmered for 10 minutes. MMM
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by s|||n

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2009
Delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Medina, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2009
I'm super picky about my gravy.. I loved my mashed potatoes! So I was excited to try this, and it turned out perfect!! I used all the ingredients too. I fried the onions first with some of the butter, then added the water, bouillon cubes and butter, etc and THEN I whisked in the flour. It was PERFECT!! I'm in love.. never need to make another kind of gravy again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2009
This is our favorite beef gravy. I use a can of beef broth plus 1/4 cup of water because I think it's more flavorful. And I use a tablespoon of onion powder instead of chopped onions, because I'm a lazy cook. Instead of making a rue on the stovetop I melt the butter in the microwave, then add the flour, cover it with a lid and shake it. Then I add that to the gravy (again I'm a lazy cook). I also like to add a few shakes of worcestershire sauce and an envelope of gravy mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ogden, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2009
This was really good for what it was. I used vegetable bouillon and it still turned out really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amber

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2009
Great gravy recipe. I have never been able to make one I've liked, until now. I halved this since I was just cooking for myself. I also used canned beef stock instead of the water and bullion. I didn't brown the onion first, I just put everything in together, and it turned out great and was super fast! I served it over rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 245) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

French Dip Sandwiches and Tangy Slaw

See how to make a hot and cheesy sandwich with sweet and tangy slaw.

Potatoes Au Gratin

Learn how to make this creamy, cheesy casserole—a favorite all year long.

Rhubarb Berry Jam

See how to make blueberry and rhubarb jam.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States