Simple Beef Flavored Gravy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2011
As far as color for any beef based dishes I've always relied on a product available in most all food stores...Kitchen Bouquet. It's what my Mom always used and adds some taste and rich color to beef based dinners. Takes very little. Use it also when I cook a roast and spread over outside of meat before cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
Excellent and easy gravy. Onions are key to the flavor. Best to saute the onions in the butter and then use Wondra flour which mixes quickly without lumps to make a roux. Then add the broth and cook to thicken. I used canned beef broth and it came out fantastic for Christmas dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2010
For the life of me I can't figure out why some people's photos show white gravy! I made this because I made a roast and didn't have any beef broth or very many drippings to use for the rue. I followed the suggestion to brown the onion first and using my microplane (food rasp) to make sure the onions were fine enough and they definitely were. I added three cups of water and four bouillon cubes as another reviewer suggested and let that come to a boil while creating the rue in a small saucepan. If you let the butter and flour get really browned up that will add color to your gravy, as will the bouillon cubes. I added the rue to the broth, whisked it up to make sure there were no lumps and left it boiling on the stove for about 15 minutes so it would cook down. I also eventually added a few tablespoons of drippings from my roast, which I'm sure added a great flavor, but even without it I think this gravy is pretty solid. (Solid in quality, not in viscosity.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2010
I made this tonight with beef patties. I let it simmer to thicken in the pan with the patties. It turned out great! I was afraid mine would turn out white like in the picture, but it turned out brown. I also used buillon cubes instead of granules, and less onions (not an onion lover). It was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portsmouth, Virginia, USA
Living In: Morristown, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2010
OMG first time EVER I made lumpless gravy that wasn't a packet.Followed reviews and melted butter with onions then added flour.THANK YOU for recipe and reviews!!I also tried it without onions,just added pepper and garlic powder.Yummy!!I did not have bouillon so used beef broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Okanagan, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2010
Very good taste! We served it over hamburger patties and rice. The only thing I changed was that I used dehydrated onions about 4 tbsp instead on fresh cut onion which softened nicely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2010
I used onion powder instead of real onion. AMAZING!! This will be my gravy recipe FOREVER!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2010
If you don't like crunchy onions in your gravy, saute' them beforehand. Also, I combined a cup of hot water with a cube of beef bullion, chilled it, mixed the flour into the cold broth, then added the butter (which i melted in the microwave beforehand) and the pre-sautéed chopped onion. I also ended up adding a decent amount of salt (but i have a salty pallet) and some black pepper as well. I then microwaved that uncovered for 30 seconds, stirred it, and microwaved another 30 seconds, stirred once more, and let it go another 30 to bring it up to temperature. So quick and easy, and very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2010
What a great recipe! I made this exactly as written, (only using one bouillon cube per teaspoon of bouillon) and it turned out super. I used this on a steak pot pie (adapted from the Leftover Pot Pie from this site) and everyone loved it. I have also substituted chicken bouillon for beef and it was just as good. Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2010
in a pinch...and a very grateful for this recipe. I made a roux with the butter/flour and then slowly added beef broth instead of bouillon. Was not salty and had the consistency of canned gravy (thick). The only downside is it isn't very beefy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 245) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

French Dip Sandwiches and Tangy Slaw

See how to make a hot and cheesy sandwich with sweet and tangy slaw.

Potatoes Au Gratin

Learn how to make this creamy, cheesy casserole—a favorite all year long.

Rhubarb Berry Jam

See how to make blueberry and rhubarb jam.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States