Simple Beef Flavored Gravy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2013
super easy! I did add some milk to my water... :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maggie C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2013
i have been trying for some time now to master homemade gravy it tastes so much better than store bought so i found this recipe my husband want going on and on how good it was and it was yummy i made mashed potatoes from a recipe here and let me tell you they were delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by COUNTRYCOOKING15329

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Avella, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Prosperity, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2013
What a delicious, simple gravy! I usually just make gravy from a packet, but I forgot one when I was last at the store, so I thought I'd try this and it was great! I made a roux from the butter and flour, then added in the boullion cubes and water (no onions as my husband cannot have them). Using real butter made it taste so rich and delicious--mmmm. I'll be making this in place of the packet gravy from now on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ponytail Goddess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Freeport, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2013
Wonderful recipe that is great as is, but can also be modified to suit your personal taste. I used 3 teaspoons of onion soup mix in place of the bouillon since I didn't have any on hand, beef stock instead of water (I had some in the fridge I needed to use up before it went bad!) and then left out the onions and this couldn't have been a tastier gravy! This accompanied my meatloaf and mashed potatoes perfectly. My two picky eaters gobbled up their potatoes and said it was the best gravy ever! I do agree with the other reviewers though that there is a specific process to making this gravy. Definitely melt the butter first, then whisk in the flour until slightly browned, and lastly, add the water/bouillon/broth and keep whisking until thickened.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Brainerd, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: May 28, 2013
very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2013
Really easy and perfect weight when prepared with a roux. I will used less onion next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cupertino, California, USA
Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Paula
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2013
Yes, this is simple and it's beef flavored, and the best part is that it uses common pantry staples. It's great to make in a pinch when you don't have any meat drippings or beef broth in the house. I used it to go over rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paula

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Olive Branch, Mississippi, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2013
This is a very easy recipe,have been making this for years when i have no drippings to make gravy from.Using beef stock with half sodium is also very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2013
For what it is, 5 stars. I did saute the onion in about 1 T of the butter and then melted the rest, added the flour, water and used beef base.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2013
Delicious and easy to make, my two favorite things. This recipe was great on its own without any modifications. Will definitely be making this again. Good bye store bought gravy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aydreanna

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: San Marcos, California, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 250) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Ever Crab Cakes

Delicious, homemade crab cakes that come together quickly.

Salmon with Brown Sugar Glaze

Oven broiled salmon fillets with sweet Dijon mustard sauce.

Roast Potatoes

Quick, flavorful roasted red potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States