Simple Beef Flavored Gravy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2013
Super easy with ingredients almost every household has sitting in a pantry. Made nearly as printed. Did pay attention to the suggestion from reviewer "inguri" to saute onions in butter and then whisk in the flour for the roux. We also added some leftover mushrooms with the onions. The texture with the onions/mushrooms was a little different, but still delicious. Love that this is a gravy recipe that does not require meat drippings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Canton, Illinois, USA
Living In: Rock Island, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2013
Extremely easy and very delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Royal Oak, Michigan, USA
Living In: Ada, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2013
For a gravy recipe so easy to make with ingredients I already had on hand and this good was a surprise!! I did add more beef base then what called for for a stronger flavor as well as seasoned it with salt and fresh ground pepper. My husband also thought it wasn't bad. This was my first time making gravy of any kind (even out of a packet!!) so all I can say is....SUCCESS!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2013
A simple and easy homemade gravy to accompany any roast meat dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsAris

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2012
quick and easy= awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2012
Eh, it was alright. I was excited to get a recipe for brown gravy cause I don't like turkey gravy and the store stuff is terrible for you, but this was disappointing. Next time I would halve the flour, double the bouillon, and add salt. I didn't put in onion, but I did onion powder, and I added about 1/2 cup of chicken broth. I'll keep looking, thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eponine

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2012
Great easy way to make beef gravy. I didn't have any onions oh hand, so I used about one teaspoon of minced garlic. I also added some onion powder and Worcestershire. Family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2012
Very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2012
Made this without the onions, but with onion powder. Simple to prepare. I used beef broth instead of water, as well. Went well with mashed potatoes and cajun meatloaf.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2012
This is hands down the best gravy I've ever had. I used it to top leftover Eileen's Meatloaf (also on this site) and mashed potatoes - delicious! I eyeballed the recipe as changing the servings skewed the numbers. I chopped down half an onion and sauteed in butter, roughly 6T, until softened. While that was cooking, I mixed 3 beef bullion cubes in 2 cups of hot water and set aside. I browned about 2 1/2 T flour, stirring constantly, then poured in the bullion water. Switched to a whisk immediately and swirled it the entire time the gravy thickened. I wasn't satisfied with the color so I added a few drops of Gravymasters - oh yes. Heaven. We found ourselves getting more meatloaf just to get the gravy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Wilmington, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 238) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

French Dip Sandwiches and Tangy Slaw

See how to make a hot and cheesy sandwich with sweet and tangy slaw.

Potatoes Au Gratin

Learn how to make this creamy, cheesy casserole—a favorite all year long.

Rhubarb Berry Jam

See how to make blueberry and rhubarb jam.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States