Simple Beef Flavored Gravy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Photo by SHORECOOK
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2013
What an AMAZING recipe! I made this last week following the directions to the "t". I was amazed at how simple it was to make with all the ingredients I had on hand. This week I changed the bouillon from beef to chicken and it was just as amazing. Next week is Thanksgiving and I must find some turkey bouillon! There is never enough gravy for leftovers. This year will be different! Thank you Sal for sharing your AMAZING recipe and wishing you the best for the holidays!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHORECOOK
Home Town: Woodbury, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Cape May Court House, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2013
I made this tonight because I thought I'd surprise my husband with meatloaf and didn't have any gravy mix. It was really good! I followed the review by kcfooddoc and made a roux, sauteing the onion (1/2 of one finely diced) first. Then I used 2 cups of water with 4 bouillon cubes. It was very salty, no doubt about that, but once mixed with the mashed potatoes, which were not salty, it was fine. I think that I need to keep some low-sodium bouillon cubes on hand for this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Jefferson City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2013
This gravy was EXCELLENT! I had never tried making gravy without roast drippings before but this was perfect. I used beef broth instead of water and bouillon and sauteed the onions as suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by miss mort

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carleton Place, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2013
This is really yummy and easy! Also try making it with 3/4 cup red wine and 3/4 cup water. Really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2013
I wouldn't recommend this recipe to my friends because of the msg in beef bouillon. Msg is a horrible unhealthy additive that induces insomnia. People are so health conscious these days I'm surprised you would include cubes in your recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2013
Really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2013
I have never made homemade gravy before let alone brown gravy tried this recipe and LOVE IT! I used beef stock instead of water and used minced onion because i didnt have a real raw onion. Still turned out perfect yummy! Also try southern style buiscuits and dip that in the gravy delicous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2013
Substitute onion powder for chopped onion and only used two bouillon cubes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2013
So easy and so good. I left out the onion, and used beef broth that I had left over from cooking a pot roast that had onions in it. This will now be my new go-to gravy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lori

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2013
I boiled the water and bouillon first, (2 c water, 2 soft beef bullion), I added the 1/4 stick butter and then 1/3 c all purpose flour, pepper to taste. This was the best gravy I ever made, t is much better than the envelope gravy when your in a bind. Oh, I didn't use onions because my hubby hates them, still a phenomenal recipe! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 250) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Best Ever Crab Cakes

Delicious, homemade crab cakes that come together quickly.

Salmon with Brown Sugar Glaze

Oven broiled salmon fillets with sweet Dijon mustard sauce.

Roast Potatoes

Quick, flavorful roasted red potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States