Simple Beef Flavored Gravy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2014
I had some leftover potroast & my gravy from the night before was awful. I followed this recipe and added just a dash of worchestershire & gravy master along with a little salt & pepper. That was it. Threw it a sauce pan and kept stirring. Once blended, I added slices of my leftover roast to heat it up while I mashed potatoes. Perfect dinner & my granddaughter who does NOT like mashed potatoes, had 2 helpings with the GRAVY on it! This is a keeper for me. Would work for chicken too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2014
I made it too thick, but it was still tasty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2014
Too simple, everyone liked the onion flavor in the gravy. I made it in stages as others had mentioned, and added some beef broth at the end cause it was a little thick for our liking. Nice flavor, really quick.......thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mooresville, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2014
It's awesome!! I have followed the advice from others an sautéed the onions longer but overall a GREAT gravy thanks for sharing!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2014
great and quick in a pinch -- added sour cream at the end for a more stroganoff flavor to top bleu-cheese stuffed burgers. as other cooks recommended would saute the onions first and make the roux -- for my first time out of the gate I tossed everything in together and got lumps and undercooked onions. I strained most out but would leave in if cooked through.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by idagal

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA
Photo by SHORECOOK
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2013
What an AMAZING recipe! I made this last week following the directions to the "t". I was amazed at how simple it was to make with all the ingredients I had on hand. This week I changed the bouillon from beef to chicken and it was just as amazing. Next week is Thanksgiving and I must find some turkey bouillon! There is never enough gravy for leftovers. This year will be different! Thank you Sal for sharing your AMAZING recipe and wishing you the best for the holidays!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHORECOOK
Home Town: Woodbury, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Cape May Court House, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2013
I made this tonight because I thought I'd surprise my husband with meatloaf and didn't have any gravy mix. It was really good! I followed the review by kcfooddoc and made a roux, sauteing the onion (1/2 of one finely diced) first. Then I used 2 cups of water with 4 bouillon cubes. It was very salty, no doubt about that, but once mixed with the mashed potatoes, which were not salty, it was fine. I think that I need to keep some low-sodium bouillon cubes on hand for this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Jefferson City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2013
This gravy was EXCELLENT! I had never tried making gravy without roast drippings before but this was perfect. I used beef broth instead of water and bouillon and sauteed the onions as suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by miss mort

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carleton Place, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2013
This is really yummy and easy! Also try making it with 3/4 cup red wine and 3/4 cup water. Really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2013
I wouldn't recommend this recipe to my friends because of the msg in beef bouillon. Msg is a horrible unhealthy additive that induces insomnia. People are so health conscious these days I'm surprised you would include cubes in your recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 245) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

French Dip Sandwiches and Tangy Slaw

See how to make a hot and cheesy sandwich with sweet and tangy slaw.

Potatoes Au Gratin

Learn how to make this creamy, cheesy casserole—a favorite all year long.

Rhubarb Berry Jam

See how to make blueberry and rhubarb jam.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States