Simple Beef Flavored Gravy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: May 2, 2011
I have been making this gravy for years. the only addition is Gravy Master about a teaspoon. To give it a rich brown color. Also try mushrooms.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrCrackers

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2011
Followed the recipe, except instead of flour I cooked all the ingredients together and before serving added a small amount of cornstarch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2011
Although I think this recipe would be awesome as is, some minor tweaks ensured I'll never buy prepared beef gravy again. I cut back the water to 1-1/4 cup, cut the onion back to about 1/4 of a large onion and stirred in 1/3 cup of sour cream after thickening. Served with pot roast and vegy's. Delicious and very quick and easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2011
This is simple, but definitely not a gravy as listed. I made a meatloaf and had no meat drippings, so I was looking for a quick subtitute gravy. Based on the cook temperature and the ingredients it ends up as flour thickened hard onions. I did only half the onion as it seemed like quite a bit, but that wouldn't change the texture. To thin it out I had to adjust it by adding quite a bit more water and then simmering on (low) until the onions had time to soften. It worked, we ate it, but it was only acceptable and I found it to be extrememly salty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holiday Baker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Photo by Loves2Cook
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2011
We made a beef roast that did not produce much juices, so I was happy to find this recipe. Made it as written except I subbed dried onion for the chopped onion. Added the juices we did have from the roast then ran it all through a strainer. The gravy was great in a pinch. Thanks for such a helpful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Loves2Cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Strongsville, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2011
Not bad, good in a pinch. I used a can of poutine sauce instead of water and two bouillon cubes. Skipped the onion (didn't have any) and used browned flour. Added an array of seasoning. The best gravy is made from drippings though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RMSR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by TRE8JSE
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2011
Made this gravy to go on top of fries for the Poutine recipe from this site. I did not change any ingredients, but I did do things a little different. First, I sauteed the onions with butter. Then I added the flour and rest of the butter. After that was browned, I added in the bouillon and the water. It turned out very good! Thanks! I will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TRE8JSE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2011
Made this last night with chicken bouillon. Not great gravy, by all means, but a nice recipe to have in a pinch. It will always be better if there are some pan drippings to add.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Annapolis, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2011
I've made it this way several times, melting the butter with the onion, addint the flour, stir til smooth and bubbly, then add the beef broth(the boullion and the water) whisking til smooth and thick. I also have added a little kitchen bouquet and you have a nice color!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cheryl

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2011
very similar to the gravy i've been making for yrs...i use bisquik and milk though...good stick to your ribs gravy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Monica Johnson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 255) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Ever Crab Cakes

Delicious, homemade crab cakes that come together quickly.

Salmon with Brown Sugar Glaze

Oven broiled salmon fillets with sweet Dijon mustard sauce.

Potatoes Au Gratin

Learn how to make this creamy, cheesy casserole—a favorite all year long.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States