Simple Beef Flavored Gravy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Samantha Santos
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2015
Silly me. After 32 years of cooking, I actually combined all ingredients as directed rather than sauté the onion and prepare a roux. The result was flavorful yet I knew it could be so much more. Tossed the first batch and prepared as stated from my instinct. Delicious with dimension! Love this simple recipe! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Samantha Santos

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2014
Simple recipe using staples. Perfect for when the complementary meat is being grilled and drippings are unavailable.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2014
The recipe was so easy and tasted great! I added everything at once and the onions were tender. I mixed it with browned ground beef and put over mashed potatoes..... Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2014
So simple!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2014
I ADDED TOO MUCH FLOUR WHOOPS
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SevenUpAva White

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2014
Used the "bones" of this recipe this evening. I am not a fan of bullion and used beef broth instead. Sauteed the onions in the butter, added beef broth to the flour and mixed very well. Put broth in with the sauteed onions, added the flour mix and as I was taught by my polish grandmother-in-law..... you MUST boil the gravy for at LEAST a minute to get rid of the flour taste. Then I added some gravy master for added color. VERY very good on the fly gravy. This will be my mainstay recipe for when I dont have drippings to make real gravy. I prefer the broth over the bullion so I can control the salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2014
The onions cooked slowly due to cooking it in the wrong order making it stick to the bottom of the pan. See the suggestions of others here.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2014
Oh my gosh this is so good. I used better than bouillon beef base, about two spoonfuls. I reduced the amount of water to about 1 cup. It made a pretty thick delicious gravy. I will be using this from now on. My pattern of cooking this recipe was melting the butter and mixing in the beef base, mixing the flour and water separately and then slowly adding it into the mixture of butter and base.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2014
Simple is good,people! My only tweak next time would include sauteeing the minced onion first in half the allotted butter than adding the remaining butter when adding in the other ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Piscataway, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2014
Pretty tasty. I think I will use only half the onions next time. Went well with egg noodles and Italian meatballs for a quick meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 250) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Ever Crab Cakes

Delicious, homemade crab cakes that come together quickly.

Salmon with Brown Sugar Glaze

Oven broiled salmon fillets with sweet Dijon mustard sauce.

Roast Potatoes

Quick, flavorful roasted red potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States