Simple Banana Coffee Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2013
This recipe IS simple. Based on other reviews I added a tsp. of vanilla as well as 1 c. combination of fresh pineapple and walnuts to use up some odds and ends. I wish I'd had flaked coconut to add because then you'd have a tropical fruit salad cake. The timing is right, the consistency is right, loved it. Seems I gravitate to these smaller cakes because there are just the two of us. Thanks for posting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Judy7905

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2013
I also used half the butter with 1/4 yogurt, added 1 tsp. cinnamon and 1 tsp. vanilla, added 1/2 c. chopped walnuts, and used 2/3 c.brown sugar instead of the white. Also threw in a few chocolate chips for my son! Simple and good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2013
This took no time at all to prepare. It was moist and delicious. I substituted the butter with coconut oil and the taste was fantastic. I also added 1/2 tsp cinnamon powder. I doubled the recipe and baked it in a 9 by 13" Pyrex glass pan and baked for @40 min.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2013
Loved this recipe! It was quick and easy to make. I did add 1/2 tsp of cinnamon and added approximately 1/2 cup of fresh diced pineapple. It was moist and delicious! I will definatley make this again as a quick dessert/coffee cake for my Family or Company
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2013
It's exactly what it says it is. Very good, and very simple. Having said that, I tweaked the heck out of it the second time I made it. After I mixed the batter I added chopped walnuts (1/2 cup or so) and a chopped FIRM banana. Then, after pouring it into the pan I topped it with a standard streusel topping. Lemme tell ya... over the top!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2013
I wasn't a big fan of this cake, not because it was bad, but because it's so nondescript. It's not particularly flavorful or even pretty or interesting to serve. Adding a teaspoon of vanilla and a lemon buttercream frosting did little to overcome that. Simple it is, I'll give it that, but unfortunately this cake is completely forgettable.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2013
This is a good banana cake, but the name is deceiving. This is by no means a coffee cake. It has a great taste and texture, looks just like the photo, and bakes exactly 30 minutes, as the recipe says.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gidgette

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2013
easy, excellent. I made a couple of changes: substituted 1/4 c greek yogurt for 1/4c of the butter, added 1/2 tsp vanilla to wet mixture, substituted 3/4 cup whole wheat flour for regular flour, put in slightly less than a cup of sugar, and added 1/4 cup oats.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2013
This was fabulous! Moist and light and yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2013
I added 1/2 tsp of cinnamon into the recipe for a little extra flavor, it turned out great :) A couple years ago I had this recipe for cinnamon coffee cake that was very similar to this and I used to add bananas to it. I lost that recipe when we moved, and this really reminded me of that bread recipe. Thanks for the post
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mfoust

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Banana Cake VI

Discover the simple secret to super-moist banana cake.

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States