Simple Banana Coffee Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2013
This recipe IS simple. Based on other reviews I added a tsp. of vanilla as well as 1 c. combination of fresh pineapple and walnuts to use up some odds and ends. I wish I'd had flaked coconut to add because then you'd have a tropical fruit salad cake. The timing is right, the consistency is right, loved it. Seems I gravitate to these smaller cakes because there are just the two of us. Thanks for posting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Judy7905

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2013
I also used half the butter with 1/4 yogurt, added 1 tsp. cinnamon and 1 tsp. vanilla, added 1/2 c. chopped walnuts, and used 2/3 c.brown sugar instead of the white. Also threw in a few chocolate chips for my son! Simple and good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2013
This took no time at all to prepare. It was moist and delicious. I substituted the butter with coconut oil and the taste was fantastic. I also added 1/2 tsp cinnamon powder. I doubled the recipe and baked it in a 9 by 13" Pyrex glass pan and baked for @40 min.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2013
Loved this recipe! It was quick and easy to make. I did add 1/2 tsp of cinnamon and added approximately 1/2 cup of fresh diced pineapple. It was moist and delicious! I will definatley make this again as a quick dessert/coffee cake for my Family or Company
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2013
It's exactly what it says it is. Very good, and very simple. Having said that, I tweaked the heck out of it the second time I made it. After I mixed the batter I added chopped walnuts (1/2 cup or so) and a chopped FIRM banana. Then, after pouring it into the pan I topped it with a standard streusel topping. Lemme tell ya... over the top!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2013
I wasn't a big fan of this cake, not because it was bad, but because it's so nondescript. It's not particularly flavorful or even pretty or interesting to serve. Adding a teaspoon of vanilla and a lemon buttercream frosting did little to overcome that. Simple it is, I'll give it that, but unfortunately this cake is completely forgettable.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2013
This is a good banana cake, but the name is deceiving. This is by no means a coffee cake. It has a great taste and texture, looks just like the photo, and bakes exactly 30 minutes, as the recipe says.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gidgette

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2013
easy, excellent. I made a couple of changes: substituted 1/4 c greek yogurt for 1/4c of the butter, added 1/2 tsp vanilla to wet mixture, substituted 3/4 cup whole wheat flour for regular flour, put in slightly less than a cup of sugar, and added 1/4 cup oats.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2013
This was fabulous! Moist and light and yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2013
I added 1/2 tsp of cinnamon into the recipe for a little extra flavor, it turned out great :) A couple years ago I had this recipe for cinnamon coffee cake that was very similar to this and I used to add bananas to it. I lost that recipe when we moved, and this really reminded me of that bread recipe. Thanks for the post
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mfoust

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey Day Recipes
Top Turkey Day Recipes

So many classic recipes to please your pilgrims.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Banana Cake VI

Discover the simple secret to super-moist banana cake.

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States