Simple Baked Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 18, 2006
This is so similar to baked beans that my mother-in-law used to make. I think the ingredients are the same but the way she made them was different. She cooked the bacon first and added that crumbled up to the beans instead of on top. Then she'd cook the onions in the bacon fat until they were clear. Then add the cooked onions and everything else to the beans and cook for a much shorter time in the oven. An hour or maybe less. That's how I've been making them and they're fantastic! Excellent, easy, fast recipe for baked beans: the way they were meant to be. Thanks for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
281 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2004
This is a very nice recipe. I followed the ingredients to the letter; however I sped up the process. I browned the bacon and sauted the onions on the stove top - added the rest and heated through. Once heated through I transferred to a crockpot to finish cooking on low 2-3 hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
227 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2002
This recipe was VERY sweet. Too sweet for my taste. I used canned baked beans. Was the recipe supposed to read canned pork and beans? The sugar from the canned beans plus the molasses and brown sugar added was a bit much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
148 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2001
I made these beans scaled to serve 100 for a wedding recption. I received more comments on them than I can count. They were quick & easy. The longest preparation item is cooking the bacon. The only downfall is, they really do need to bake 3 hours or they are a bit runny. Then again, that is a just a matter of preference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2002
Great recipe, I made these in my slow cooker and they turned out great. Everyone loved them, in fact there weren't any leftovers. I followed the recipe exact, except I added a bit of liquid smoke. Yum Yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2009
Given the amount of molasses and brown sugar in this recipe, I can only rate this a weak two stars. I used half the amount of each and hubs said if I had used what was called for it would have tasted only of molasses and sugar. I sauteed the bacon and onion and added it to the beans with the remaining ingredients, then just threw it in the slow cooker. While these beans were acceptable (three stars with half the sugar and molasses), they are not extraordinary in any way. Frankly, I think a can of Bush's Homestyle Baked Beans would have been just as good without the additional effort of doctoring up a can of pork and beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2007
This is the best baked bean recipe I have found. It is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa H

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2011
Quick and easy! This is a classic picnic side dish that's always a hit at BBQ's. Other than cutting back on the molasses and brown sugar then adding a bit of liquid smoke I wouldn't change a thing. This definitely is a great way to take a regular 'ol can of baked beans and turn them into something special without a lot of effort!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: May 24, 2007
Very easy to make and great taste! Everyone raved about them and asked me if I made them from scratch. Hee hee! Quick and easy with good results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Living In: Barrington, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2001
I needed a quick Baked Bean recipe for a lunch gathering at work. These are the best baked beans I have ever tasted ... not dry, easy to make and not alot of looking around for non-existing or expensive ingredients. Great in the slow cooker too. I'm keeping this one for sure!! Thanks Brandi, for a GREAT recipe, I will make this one often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 78) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Simple Baked Beans

See how to make super quick-and-easy baked beans.

Chef John’s Boston Baked Beans

See how to make sweet-and-savory homemade baked beans.

Texas-Style Baked Beans

Sweet and spicy, with lots of ground beef. These ain’t your basic baked beans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States