Simple Baked Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2011
Quick and easy! This is a classic picnic side dish that's always a hit at BBQ's. Other than cutting back on the molasses and brown sugar then adding a bit of liquid smoke I wouldn't change a thing. This definitely is a great way to take a regular 'ol can of baked beans and turn them into something special without a lot of effort!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2011
A little too simple for us. Not much different that a can of Bush's Baked beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CRAZY4SUSHI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2011
These beans rock! People who don't even like baked beans thought these were fantastic. Cook's Illustrated said "Bush's Best Original Baked Beans" have the best texture & rated them second best for taste so I started with them (NOT "Pork & Beans"). The ONLY way the recipe was altered was to par-cook the bacon in microwave (not a fan of limp bacon). These were quick, easy, and tasted great! What more could you ask for?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2011
exactly the taste I was looking for. My husband and I had a craving for franks and beans but no canned baked beans in the house. I found this recipe, cut it in half, quickly mixed it up and let everything cook on the stove in a cast iron for about 20 min. to let the onions softened and the sauce reduce. Perfect! I'm sure it's even better baked in the oven but we were pretty hungry when we started on our quest.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2010
Don't use a glass pan. I think that is why the last two times I made this the bottom half was burnt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PATTYOH1

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2010
I made this receipe for a cookout. Everyone, raved about them. I definately will be making them again. As a matter of fact this weekend for our block party.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2010
We LOVE this recipe. I now make it for most of our family gatherings and it is a favorite. Yes, it is a bit sweet, but then, that is how baked beans are supposed to taste. We don't make any changes at all to the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2010
Any time I barbeque, I make these beans. My family loves them and they always come out fabulous. I use Bush's Thick and Rich Country Style Baked beans and typically scale the recipe to 15. Always Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2010
Found it a bit on the sweet side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2010
2 tablespoons brown sugar Crock pot Low: 6 hours High 3 hours
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 78) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Simple Baked Beans

See how to make super quick-and-easy baked beans.

Chef John’s Boston Baked Beans

See how to make sweet-and-savory homemade baked beans.

Texas-Style Baked Beans

Sweet and spicy, with lots of ground beef. These ain’t your basic baked beans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States