Simple Baked Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2014
Good recipe in a pinch. I would definitely make again. I sautéed the onions first, added beans and heated for about 30 more minutes on the stovetop. I also added real bacon crumbles to give it more bacon and flavor. I loved the flavor and the family enjoyed it as well. Had to tweak ingredients a bit to suite our tastes, but really appreciate this recipe to work with!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHERYLSKITCHEN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Modesto, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2014
Really good - really simple. Will make often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2013
I made this and it wasn't even eatable. It was right down awful. I will go back to just throwing my brown sugar, onions, pork and beans, bacon, BBQ sauce and catsup in a baking dish and mixing to taste. Wouldn't have even given it one star but wouldn't allow me to post without doing so.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2013
I LOVED THESE BEANS, and after reading some of the reviews there were some hints that I really liked. I wanted to serve about 10- 15 ppl. I used two large cans of the Bush's original and one of the bold and spicy. I cooked about 4- 5 pieces of bacon that I cut into small pieces before cooking. I then sauté'd the onions in the bacon grease until translucent to lightly browned. Mix together the beans, mustard, Ketchup, molasses, SKIP the brown sugar unless you like the beans even more on the sweet sweet side. MIX IN the bacon and onions. I used at least a half of large onion, 2tbs mustard and 1/4 cup ketchup. I then placed in oven cover and bake for three hours. LOVELY smell in the house, and the taste... MMMMM fabulous!!! Tastes like you cooked them completely from scratch!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lady Pamela

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rainier, Oregon, USA
Living In: Huntsville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2013
Not sure what happened here. I am a reasonably good cook and followed the recipe to a "T". When I took the covered casserole out of the oven after 3 hours, all liquid was absorbed, and the beans were burnt. Lots of burnt black in my casserole. The problem is not my oven - I've never had a problem before and recipes typically turn out the way they were intended. Sorry! Won't be making this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2013
Great easy recipe....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ocala, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2013
I thought it was delicious! Best recipe I have used for doctored up beans. I did double the recipe and added more bacon just because but the sugar and molasses were good amounts. I put it in the crock pot and let them thicken up all day so I didn't have to heat up my house. These were much better than any Bush's beans I have tried!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2013
Great recipe. We thoroughly enjoyed it. However, 3 hours in the oven is a bit too long. I think next time I will reduce the time by half. I used cinnamon apple sausage instead of bacon as well. Still tasted great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2013
The most delicious baked beans I had ever had! The bacon really makes this dish- don't skip it. I tried making this recipe last minute for dinner last night, and the 3 hour cooking time really makes a difference, but it's still delicious with just an hour of cooking time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2013
Yes I have I have tried theses and thought they were missing a few important elements .Like bacon I would use brown or molasses one or the other , other it is to sweet. I think the bacon would add more savory flavor and may a 1/2 teaspoon of Hickory smoke.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 76) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Simple Baked Beans

See how to make super quick-and-easy baked beans.

Chef John’s Boston Baked Beans

See how to make sweet-and-savory homemade baked beans.

Texas-Style Baked Beans

Sweet and spicy, with lots of ground beef, these ain’t your typical baked beans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States