Simple Baked Apples Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2011
The apples turned out pretty good when served with a scoop of vanilla ice cream. Had some issues with milk flour skin residue at the bottom. Not the best I've ever made but still good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2011
Delicious!! I used organic sugar, omitted the flour(don't eat grains), left out the walnuts(had none), and used 2% milk. Everyone enjoyed it. The only problem I had with it was that it was too sweet for my tastes. No one else in my family thought so though. Next time I will either cut the sugar in half or just leave it out altogether and maybe use some honey instead. I will definitely make this again!! Loved it especially because after I omitted the flour it became the perfect grain-free treat. Thanks for sharing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by grainfreegirl96
Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2011
My family loved these apples. I will definitely make them again. I followed the recipe to the letter
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2011
Yum! These were the perfect complement to my fall meal. Because I was just serving myself (my hubs does not like fruit), I halved this. Now I have a sweet treat to enjoy the rest of the week! :) As with any new recipe I try, I made a few tweaks to suit my tastes. By mistake, I used the full amount of spice called for (oops!). I intentionally subbed maple sugar for plain sugar and apple pie spice for the individual spices simply because I had both on hand. I also added 1/2 t vanilla to my milk. My only suggestion for next time is to NOT cut my apple slices so thin. They got pretty limp. :( I think cutting into eighths or fourths (depending on the size of my apples) would work better. One more necessary change is omitting the walnuts alltogether. They seemed out of place and added nothing to this dish, IMHO. I'd double up on the raisins instead (on the contrary, they were the perfect complement). NOTE: Use baking apples for this. I used Golden delicious apples. Served with a dollop of whipped cream, this was a mildly sweet, somewhat healthy treat. Thanks for sharing, MAEVEN6! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Mickey (aka Mickey)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: De Soto, Missouri, USA
Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2011
This was so good and so easy. I customized a little, I used a crock pot and didn't even add the raisins and walnuts. Instead of milk I used apple juice. I also substituted 1/4 c brown sugar, 1/4 cup white. After leaving it on low all day, the smell and consistency was amazing. I topped a piece of angel food cake with apples and cool-whip. Yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2011
I used pecans instead of walnuts and cranberries instead of raisins. Put it all in my little crockpot and cooked it on high for about an hour or so. I knew it was done when the delicious apple pie smell filled my entire apartment! So simple and delicious. Maybe a little too sweet with both the sugar and dried fruit. Will probably skill the sugar (I used two Stevia packets) all together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2011
Thank you everyone who reviews and shares your tips, they are a big help. Thank You!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Bristol, Gloucestershire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2011
Yummy! These turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2011
I just made this recipe, and it turned out splendidly. I changed a number of things though. 1. I sliced 4 (not 6) apples as directed, and then cut them in half in order to reduce the baking time. 2. Instead of pouring the milk over the apples, I mixed the milk with the spices so they would be better blended, and added 1 tsp vanilla extract, before pouring the mixture over the apples. Be sure to give the apples a couple of turns so they're coated. 3. I also sprinkled brown sugar over the top before throwing it all in the oven. The apples were ready in 30 minutes, perfect because most were very soft but some had just a little crunch to them. If you like crisper cooked apples, reduce the baking time to 20-25 mins. I also chose a marginally healthier 2% milk, although I think my added brown sugar countered that... Excellent recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2011
Made with 4 small granny smiths, ommitted raisins and nuts. Added vanilla. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookingInSeattle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 393) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Caramel Apples

See how to make chewy, gooey caramel apples!

Baked Oatmeal II

This oatmeal is rich, delicious, and very open to your creative touches.

Baked Oatmeal I

A sweet baked oatmeal with raisins, milk, and eggs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States