Simple Baked Apples Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Photo by SHARBEAR613
Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2011
I thought this was very delicious with some minor adjustments. I used three green apples and three red apples which allowed a great sweet & sour mix of the apples. I added 1/2 tsp vanilla extract. I used 1/4 cup sugar and 1/4 cup brown sugar. Next time I will delete the flour and use apple cider vs. milk. I felt the sauce was way to thick and gooey. It was so good and a big hit with my daughter. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHARBEAR613

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2011
My husband raved about this recipe! The milk did curtle a little bit. I will probably use apple cider next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2011
I loved this, as did my husband and 2 year old. I didn't use the cloves since I didn't have any, and used chopped almonds in place of the walnuts. Instead of whole milk, I used 1%, and it turned out great. I will definitely make this again. A healthier version of apple crisp!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BLyn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sandy, Utah, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2011
Good! Halved it just fine
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2011
This was SO yummy! However, I made a few changes...First, I didn't have any nutmeg, so I just doubled the cinnamon to compensate. Then, I added about 1/2 cup of brown sugar to the mix and about 1/2 a cup of quick oats. Then I sprinkled about 1/4 of brown sugar over the top of the apples before baking. I also substituted cream for the milk (but only because that is what I had on hand). SOOOOOOO good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2011
The apples turned out pretty good when served with a scoop of vanilla ice cream. Had some issues with milk flour skin residue at the bottom. Not the best I've ever made but still good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2011
Delicious!! I used organic sugar, omitted the flour(don't eat grains), left out the walnuts(had none), and used 2% milk. Everyone enjoyed it. The only problem I had with it was that it was too sweet for my tastes. No one else in my family thought so though. Next time I will either cut the sugar in half or just leave it out altogether and maybe use some honey instead. I will definitely make this again!! Loved it especially because after I omitted the flour it became the perfect grain-free treat. Thanks for sharing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by grainfreegirl96
Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2011
My family loved these apples. I will definitely make them again. I followed the recipe to the letter
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2011
Yum! These were the perfect complement to my fall meal. Because I was just serving myself (my hubs does not like fruit), I halved this. Now I have a sweet treat to enjoy the rest of the week! :) As with any new recipe I try, I made a few tweaks to suit my tastes. By mistake, I used the full amount of spice called for (oops!). I intentionally subbed maple sugar for plain sugar and apple pie spice for the individual spices simply because I had both on hand. I also added 1/2 t vanilla to my milk. My only suggestion for next time is to NOT cut my apple slices so thin. They got pretty limp. :( I think cutting into eighths or fourths (depending on the size of my apples) would work better. One more necessary change is omitting the walnuts alltogether. They seemed out of place and added nothing to this dish, IMHO. I'd double up on the raisins instead (on the contrary, they were the perfect complement). NOTE: Use baking apples for this. I used Golden delicious apples. Served with a dollop of whipped cream, this was a mildly sweet, somewhat healthy treat. Thanks for sharing, MAEVEN6! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Mickey (aka Mickey)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: De Soto, Missouri, USA
Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2011
This was so good and so easy. I customized a little, I used a crock pot and didn't even add the raisins and walnuts. Instead of milk I used apple juice. I also substituted 1/4 c brown sugar, 1/4 cup white. After leaving it on low all day, the smell and consistency was amazing. I topped a piece of angel food cake with apples and cool-whip. Yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 398) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sauteed Apples

See how to make this versatile recipe for Sauteed Apples.

Caramel Apples

See how to make chewy, gooey caramel apples!

Bacon Baked Beans

See how to make baked beans with bacon, diced apples, and brown sugar.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States