Simple Baked Apples Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: May 4, 2012
I made this the other night, my husband and i enjoyed it very much, the only changes i made was i cut the sugar down to 1/4 cup and i put brown sugar in it instead of white. I loved the flavor of all the spices and we ate it warm out of the oven with yoghart on it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bernadene

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2012
This was amazing! I made it in the crockpot, per some other reviews, and because my oven was occupied with other food. I put all the ingredients (not raisins or walnuts) and used 1/4 cup apple cider instead of milk. I cooked it on high for about 2.5 hours and it was perfect withe vanilla ice cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shoeaholic

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rocky Mount, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Washington, D.C., USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2012
It wasnt gooey sweet instead it was clumpy. The clove was very strong so I wouldn't add 1/4 tsp. I don't I'll make this again. I was able to eat it but I didn't love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2012
i did not even really get to taste this recipe. i might be totally clueless about the whole thing but it appears that you must eat the whole recipe as soon as you bake it because i saved it for the next day and by that time the apples had black (oxidized) splotches on them and the "dressing" type mixture looked bad and was a black mushy goo. I tried to eat a few pieces that were less tarred but I ended up just chucking it. Too bad, this recipe sounded so good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Murfreesboro, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2012
Nice recipe!! By the way if you guys are looking for more recipes check out this site too They have lots of recipes on there that aren't on this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2012
This recipe is easy and works great exactly as written or with changes. I've made it 5 or 6 times. Tonight, I was out of milk and raisins. I used whole wheat flour. Also, I have found that the walnuts turn out crunchier if sprinkled over the top rather than mixed in. Per other reviewer suggestions, I like to use vanilla extract in the mix. I was out of vanilla tonight, so I used butterscotch schnappes. Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MapleFudge

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2012
I was craving baked apples and found this recipe. I followed directions almost exactly but omitted cloves. I found it very plain and the liquid wasn't sweet the way I like it. The milk made it that way I'm guessing. I also used brown sugar instead of white . Still wasn't good enough that I would ever make again. Will stick to my granny smith apple pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WahiniSuzi

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Haiku, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2012
Mixed reviews at my house. It seemed a little holiday and was a great side dish/semi-dessert for roasted pork loin. I loved the spices, raisins, and nuts, but my husband prefers a plain cinnamon/sugar mix on his apples. My daughter (who will eat anything) had this with her supper and again over a pancake for breakfast the next morning. Overall it was a nice change of pace.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mrs.embee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Iowa City, Iowa, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2012
Made as written (except whisked the milk in with flour, sugar, spice mixture ..instead of pouring milk over the top. Then tossed apples to coat. Seemed easier that way.) Stirred halfway through & again before serving. Served with vanilla icecream to the kids. Good without icecream for the adults! Be sure to use 6 LARGE apples! This may be why too spicy for some reviewers. May cut back on nutmeg next time. Loved the walnuts (pulsed in foodprocessor) might add more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jaiosh

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2012
A fantastic way to use extra apples of any variety.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MYFANWYS

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 390) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Oatmeal II

This oatmeal is rich, delicious, and very open to your creative touches.

Baked Oatmeal I

A sweet baked oatmeal with raisins, milk, and eggs.

Baked Omelet Roll

What a great way to feed a hungry breakfast crowd!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States