Simple Baked Apples Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2012
Made 3 separate little (bread) pans for those who didn't like raisins, etc. but we all really liked it (as recipe was written, scaled down to size)! Hubby and son added ice cream; I added nonfat vanilla yogurt. Felt like I was cheating! :) Will bake less than 60 minutes as they were a bit overcooked and now I have pans to scrub...ugh.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2012
This recipe is fantastic. I followed it to a T. As for the apples, I used 3 freshly picked Granny Smith and 3 freshly picked Romans. The house smelled so good while cooking these that even my 4 year old son commented on how he couldn't wait to try the end result! We had them fresh out of the oven with ribs, and then the next night we had them left-over with whipped cream and a shortbread cookie. Super, and will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2012
I substituted brown sugar for white, used 1/8 tsp of cloves, and omitted the walnuts (didn't have any.) Mixed ingredients together in crockpot and cooked for one hour on high and two hours on low. I really didn't enjoy the taste of the raisins after they soaked up the liquid, but the apples were wonderful! We used them to top ice cream. I had them with a dollop of fat free cool whip for a lighter treat. It went fast with our family of four. I'll definitely have to double the recipe next time and try the walnuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MissMeredith

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2012
Two thumbs up! It is REALLY good and easy to make! I added vanilla extract to the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2012
Made these for my girls when they were a year old. Everything came out really soft and delicious. Very happy with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2012
I love this recipe! I also add vanilla extract, replace the whole milk with 1% or skim and use brown sugar splenda instead of the regular white sugar. The house smells amazing while this is cooking. I serve it over low fat vanilla ice cream and it tastes like a million bucks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Branford, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2012
I have to admit, I was drawn to this recipe while looking for something to salvage a few apples that were no longer at the peak for eating out of hand. My sweetener of choice was brown sugar and I added more spice than called for and a touch of lemon juice. The final result was just lovely - I was surprised and delighted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Burlington, North Carolina, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2012
I made these for Easter Dinner! They were delicious; however, following the recommendation of a few others I left the peel on...I won't do this next time. I also used the recommendation of another to make this dish in the crockpot and sub apple cider vinegar in place of the milk. Love the use of the crock-pot as it freed space for the oven/stove top. This one is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: May 4, 2012
I made this the other night, my husband and i enjoyed it very much, the only changes i made was i cut the sugar down to 1/4 cup and i put brown sugar in it instead of white. I loved the flavor of all the spices and we ate it warm out of the oven with yoghart on it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bernadene

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2012
This was amazing! I made it in the crockpot, per some other reviews, and because my oven was occupied with other food. I put all the ingredients (not raisins or walnuts) and used 1/4 cup apple cider instead of milk. I cooked it on high for about 2.5 hours and it was perfect withe vanilla ice cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shoeaholic

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rocky Mount, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Washington, D.C., USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 398) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sauteed Apples

See how to make this versatile recipe for Sauteed Apples.

Caramel Apples

See how to make chewy, gooey caramel apples!

Bacon Baked Beans

See how to make baked beans with bacon, diced apples, and brown sugar.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States