Simple Baked Apples Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 1, 2002
This is really good! It is so quick and easy to make. It is just like apple crisp without the topping. I didn't have raisins, but it was good with the walnuts. You could also use Craisins (dried cranberries); that would be good. I think next time I will also add some chopped sweet potato. This is great for anyone! Much easier than making apple crisp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
69 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2002
We liked this a lot. I used apples and pears because I have a lot of pears this time of year. Next time, I may throw in a few cranberrys also. Very quick and easy to do...thanks for the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2003
Absolutely delicious! And so very easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Parlin, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Bear, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2003
Delicious! Loved it warm right out of the owen. I also added some craisins to the mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Spirit Lake, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2003
These are very simple and taste great. The house will smell yummy also when cooking. I do not use the raisens and use 2% milk instead of whole milk and it turns out great. It is a very big hit served over vanilla ice cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2003
The whole family was wowed by this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2003
Was very good...but made it more diet friendly by using splenda..oat flour and skim milk. Topped with some fat free cool whip and was excellent desert...all 4 of my kids loved it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Franklin, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2003
I was planning on making whole baked apples for Christmas this year but decided on this recipe because it sounded delicious and easy to make. IT WAS!!! I scaled the recipe to serve 20. I also added a package of craisins after reading the other reviews (good idea) and added a crumb topping made of equal parts flour and white sugar and enough butter to make the dough stick enough to make crumbs (plus a hint of cinnamon). I am planning on making this again soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cologne, Nordrhein-Westfalen, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2004
This came out "soupy" with little flour "skins" floating on top. I salvaged it by cooking it in a large frying pan, adding butter and whisking it while letting the liquid reduce. It still didn't look appetizing, so I poured it back in the baking dish and topped with with an apple crisp topping (oatmeal, flour, brown sugar and butter). After baking it, it was appealing and tasted good. May I suggest an alternative? Put the sliced apples in a frying pan with butter, add cinnamon, sugar, water and cook until apples are tender and liquid is reduced. Apples prepared this way (fried apples) are delicious and my son's favorite. He looks forward to any left-overs being packed in his school lunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2004
very nice and very simple - I added dried cranberries instead of raisin, and upped the level of spices. Definitely will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Moxie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Youngstown, Ohio, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 396) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sauteed Apples

See how to make this versatile recipe for Sauteed Apples.

Caramel Apples

See how to make chewy, gooey caramel apples!

Bacon Baked Beans

See how to make baked beans with bacon, diced apples, and brown sugar.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States