Simple Baked Apples Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2011
Fabulous! I will now use this for all my apple stuff- I love the combo. Hard to stop eating it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2011
I used only 1/4 c. sugar and 2% milk instead of whole. Plenty sweet and really delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2011
Did not use nutmeg. Added 1/2 cup walnut chips. Added 1 cup whole cranberries. Used 5 apples- 1 granny smith & 4 red delicious, 1/2 w/skins & 1/2 w/out. Def. will make again, but with bigger walnuts than chips. Use a big dish, so you can stir it w/out it falling out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2010
This came out pretty terrible for me, but I think it's my fault. I tried to make it vegan by substituting turbinado sugar for white and almond milk for whole milk. The sugar didn't melt and get bubbly. The flavor was not delicious. Total kitchen failure. Hope you all have better luck.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
Very good. I only used a small pinch of cloves, since I am not a fan of cloves. The only recommendation that I have is to cover the dish with foil while baking and remove it during the last 10 minutes or so. I left mine uncovered and the apples were sort of dry, not nice and bubbly as I expected them to be.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Spyce

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Decatur, Illinois, USA
Living In: Waldorf, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
I made these with our Christmas dinner. I made them accordingly but ommitted the raisins and walnuts. I added a few bits of butter and brown sugar on top as suggested by another reviewer. The apples turned out well enough but could have standed even a little more sugar. I found they tasted better the longer they sat. Also the recipe does not make 12 servings but more along the lines of 6-8. I'll make again with some modifications.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VictoriaSe49896

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Westminster, Maryland, USA
Photo by RebeccaD
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2010
I am going to give this 3 stars because I changed the recipe slightly.This may have been ok with all the sugar this calls for but we made it with much less sugar. We did not care for this at all with the flour - it gobbed on the apples and did not taste good. Additionally, the long bake time was just not worth it. We won't make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RebeccaD

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Millerton, New York, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2010
Absolutely wonderful! It immediately became a classic at my house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2010
5 stars for ease and a healthy alternative to dessert--i left out the whipped cream :) i made them in the crockpot. made the house smell delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2010
I did this for Thanksgiving and got lots of compliments. I prepped the apples the night before with the sugar and seasonings and stored them in the fridge in zip lock bags. In the morning I put them in my crockpot with half milk, half apple cider on low. 4 hrs later they were fantastic. Served them as a stand alone dish with fresh made whip cream as a topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ocala, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 393) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Caramel Apples

See how to make chewy, gooey caramel apples!

Baked Oatmeal II

This oatmeal is rich, delicious, and very open to your creative touches.

Baked Oatmeal I

A sweet baked oatmeal with raisins, milk, and eggs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States