Simple BBQ Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2000
needed barbque sauce in a hurry for spare ribs, no time to shop for ingredients, searched myrecipe.com and there it was! Very happy with the results too! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2001
I would only use half a packet of the onion soup mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2002
I LOVE this sweet sauce. I've been making it for about a year and have passed it onto several people. I only use about 1/2 the packet of onion soup mix and 1/2 of the worcestershire called for. I also add a tablespoon or two of pineapple juice (something my grandma always added to her bbq sauces). This sauce makes delicious ham bbq sandwiches. Just whip up the sauce and add some finely chipped ham.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOMOFCASSIE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Martinsburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Duncansville, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2003
Not the best bbq sauce and that's being nice. We did a taste test BEFORE brushing our chicken with it, thank goodness. Our chicken would have tasted like ketchup otherwise. Thankfully I had a bottle of bbq sauce in the fridge. This recipe lacks on flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chattanooga, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2004
Not a bad barbeque sauce considering it's simplicity...ingredients I always have one hand. I, too, cut down on the onion soup mix a little, and added some orange juice (didn't have pineapple like other reviewer!) There are better BBQ sauce recipes, but this one is tops for simplicity! We put it on chicken wings for the kids one night as they can't stand the heat of other recipes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2004
This was a great recipe. I altered it a little though. I added 2 tablespoons of Hickory BBQ Sauce, One teaspoon of hot sauce, some minced garlic, oregano, and pepper. It added a little spice. Nice!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2005
this is easy. only thing i did diffent was when it was through i put it in my blender to pure the onions. and had a good taste. thanks i will play with this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2007
I liked this for the simplicity of it. I had everything I need in the pantry. However I didn't like the taste of it. It was good just not BBQ-ie enough. I added some Eastern NC style dry rub seasoning to it and that helped, though. This was good, just not what I was looking for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buckhannon, West Virginia, USA
Living In: Springfield, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2009
Thanks for the recipe..I appreciate that you took the time to put it on here. I am not the biggest fan of vinegar and most recipes have vinegar in it.I was able to take what you did and add my own stuff to it and it was awesome..thank you so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alli

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Shawnee, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Hoover, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2009
A little sweet, and I recommend that you let this sit for a few hours to allow the sugar to incorporate so it won't be as grainy. I'll make again when I forget to buy it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Secret BBQ Sauce

The secret’s out! Here’s the recipe for our classic barbeque sauce—revealed!

Bourbon Whiskey BBQ Sauce

Kentucky bourbon leads a saucy cast of tangy, spicy, and sweet ingredients.

Kathy's Award Winning Barbeque Sauce

See how to make thick, spicy, blue-ribbon BBQ sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States