Simple BBQ Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2014
I made this,was very good,but I made little change added 1tsp red chili paste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bozena

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Photo by Momma_Jones
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
I'm not Mamma Jones, but Papa Jones. I will be using this simple recipe for rib night from now on. I was down to two tablespoons of bottled BBQ Sauce, when I went searching for a fridge and cupboard recipe. I found this and it did the trick. Easy to make and tasty too. Try it by the book, or modify to taste, it's good. Maybe a little Tabasco next time?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Momma_Jones

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Bellevue, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2013
This was quick and easy. Loved the sweet flavor. I added just a bit of liquid smoke because I didn't have the Worcestershire sauce. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kay
Home Town: East Liverpool, Ohio, USA
Living In: Wildomar, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2013
I tried it on grilled turkey wings it was off the hook!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2013
This is a sweet sauce, somewhat sweeter as-is than I would have cared for, and in the future I might modify it by adding less sugar or cutting the sweet with a little vinegar. However, I ate the whole pork chop I put this sauce on quickly, and was pretty eager for that next forkful, and the chops were tender and moist - so I can't give the sauce anything less than four stars. This is a great base recipe for cooks to start adapting to their own style. Thanks for sharing it -
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2012
I anticipated a Ketchupy BBQ sauce so I did alter mine a little bit.. I ommitted the worcestershire sauce (just don't like it for some reason) and added some ghost chili hot sauce, a jalapeno hot sauce, and a good amount of honey.. What I got was a kicked up, yet Tangy BBQ Sauce. I also simmered it in a small saucepan and did not have any grains of sugar or unblended ingredients. I have never made a BBQ sauce and wanted something a little different for my chicken tonight. This turned out AWESOME! Thanks for the recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2012
from reading all the Review's I guess it's safe to say this is a good base for BBQ sauce. I substituted the brown sugar with honey, I started with 1/2 cup & added 1 more tsp. by doing that, I didnt have the grain problem that comes with the brown sugar, I give this 5 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joyce M Shirley

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2012
I made this one night because I was in a pinch for some bbq sauce for the brisket. It's simple to make and is easily adjusted to fit your tastes. I followed the review of someone else who mentioned adding hickory bbq sauce to it (but only after i tasted the original). Just stirred in enough to make it to my liking. You can adjust the amt of sugar, and Worcestershire sauce, to suit your tastes. I inadvertently dumped the whole packet of dry soup mix in, so I had to double the recipe... i froze the extra in a mayonnaise jar. Haven't used it yet to see how it fared after freezing. Will update this review when I find out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by prettygentle

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2011
I am not one for bbq sauce, I have never really liked the taste of them. But this sauce is delicious, I just added a little more brownsugar and I doubled the worcestershire sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2009
A little sweet, and I recommend that you let this sit for a few hours to allow the sugar to incorporate so it won't be as grainy. I'll make again when I forget to buy it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Secret BBQ Sauce

The secret’s out! Here’s the recipe for our classic barbeque sauce—revealed!

Bourbon Whiskey BBQ Sauce

Kentucky bourbon leads a saucy cast of tangy, spicy, and sweet ingredients.

Kathy's Award Winning Barbeque Sauce

See how to make thick, spicy, blue-ribbon BBQ sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States