Simple BBQ Ribs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2013
Just made these for dinner! Amazing, fall off the bone ribs! I boiled them in my stock pot, cut into three or four bone sections ( I used side ribs) with half an onion, fresh garlic and ingredients listed above for about 45 mins. I then turned off the gas and let them soak throughout the day. I then divided them up into two 9x13 glass dishes and poured on my Sweet Baby Rays honey BBQ sauce, covered them in foil and baked for about an hour and ten mins. Hubby then placed them on the grill for 7-8 mins on high to sear them. Turned out amazing! Will be using this method from now on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2013
Wow these are good. Great alternative for grilled ribs. I love grilled ribs, but when you can't grill this is great. Very tender and tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chariot

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2013
I have made these twice...once as written and then once with my own additions. Both times they turned out very well and I would give them 5 stars each time (or more if I could). The second time I added my own touches. I used onion powder, garlic powder, salt, pepper, and Old Bay in the boiling liquid and boiled for 1 hour. Before baking, I added a little diet root beer to the pan before covering with aluminum foil. Baked for one hour and during the last 10 minutes, I added more barbecue sauce and then broiled. Both times, friends were asking for more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2013
I've been cooking for over 25 years (also a fan of this site for quite some time) but never made bbq ribs. Recently, we went to a restaurant extremely famous for their ribs. They were scrumptious but pricey and I thought surely I could find a recipe for ribs that tasted similar. I chose this recipe because of its simplicity and five star rating (from 777 reviews so far). I used Sweet Baby Ray's Honey BBQ sauce and made about 5 lbs of ribs for three people and just used a cookie sheet to bake them. Instant WINNER! Could not be easier to make yet seems like you went all out to cook a special meal. I also like the idea of basting the ribs half-way through with more sauce while they're in the oven. An interesting side note, tho. One time, my oven door broke (white part pulled away from the metal) in the middle of baking these. I was able to continue baking the ribs but wasn't able to baste them because the door wouldn't stay open. Since they weren't as saucy, my son used the Sweet Baby Rays as a dipping sauce...and...it was the stuff...that DREAMS are made of! I was crazy about the taste of the tangy uncooked sauce mixed with the yummy, melt in your mouth flavor of the ribs. I'm thrilled I found this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2013
This recipe is awesome. Now we can save money by making our own ribs!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Juliana's Kitchen
Reviewed: May 30, 2013
So i tried Chef John's verison making ribs in the oven as well as this recipe. i used the same slab of rib but cut it in half and used one with this recipe and the other with john. Same BBQ same spices, just differnt methods of cooking the ribs. Overall I thought this recipe was muuuch better than John's baby back rib recipe. I felt like the boiling part helped the meat have that fall off the bone texture. I followed the recipe exactly and used Jack Daniels honey BBQ sauce. In the end i will be using this recipe Whenever i want to make ribs in the house=)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Juliana's Kitchen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Reviewed: May 26, 2013
We used pork spareribs and this was simple and delicious. Next time after cooking in the oven I may throw them on the grill for a smokey finish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2013
I used this recipe my first time making ribs. I was skeptical about it since I had only been cooking for a few months when I made it. I followed the advice of other reviewers and boiled Country Style Ribs for 45min-1hr before baking them. I slightly edited the recipe by adding 1TBS of onion powder to the mix as well. However, I only added a slight bit of salt because I seasoned my ribs with Nature's Own seasoning, which has a mixture that includes salt. I baked the ribs for another hour with a Honey BBQ sauce recipe I found a while back. 2Cups BBQ Sauce any brand, 1tsp garlic powder, 1tsp onion powder, 1/2tsp ginger, 1/2C honey, and 1tsp Worcestershire sauce. I've also used bottled Honey BBQ sauce and added all of the other ingredients to make a more tasty sauce. I've done the ribs and sauces several times now, and the sauce is good on other meats as well, and the ribs have came out tender each time, and delicious! My whole family loves them, including my kid sister who's 8yrs and picky about everything!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2013
This recipe is awesome!! Never had more tender ribs. Used Sweet Baby Ray's Honey BBQ Sauce and did not regret it! This will be a frequently used recipe for sure now. Thanks so much!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Sheffield, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2013
This recipe produced the best ribs I have ever tasted! I like some other reviewers tips on making step one ahead and then storing in zip lock bags with the sauce for later (camping, traveling to friends, etc.) This is a keeper. I will experiment with spices, but will always use this method. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 861) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

BBQ Country Style Ribs

These ribs bake up deliciously in the oven. Yum!

Oven-Baked BBQ Ribs

No grill? No worries. These baked ribs are juicy and tasty.

How to Make Baked BBQ Baby Back Ribs

See how easy it is to make 5-star ribs in the oven.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States