Simple Arrabbiata Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2011
This is the first time I have made my own sauce and I thought it turned out really well. I didn't have basil so i used some cilantro and parsley, and instead of red pepper flakes I used spicy sea salt which consists partly of red hot chili peppers. I loved the kick it had without being super spicy, and over fusilli noodles it tasted great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2011
Great! If you use a can of crushed tomatoes instead of diced, they will break up a bit more when cooking and you can eliminate the hand blender. Super Tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2011
It was great, but I was not prepared for the spiciness. I added much less than ordered to, and still it was far too spicy. Without the red pepper flakes, it would have been a five
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by amandak23k
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2010
This was soo good! Just the right amount of heat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amandak23k

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2010
followed exactly except i used two 16oz cans of diced tomatoes. i pureed 1 and left the 2nd diced. i did add a teaspoon of sugar as i find it eases the tanginess of canned tomatoes. oops, i did start with a saute of minced onions so i did two wee changes. but the end result was terrific, delicious wonderful flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by matgurl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Long Beach, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2010
This recipe was spot-on. The only changes were to use a few Tbsp. dried basil, as I didn't have any fresh, and I also sauteed the garlic and spices together before adding crushed tomatoes. Consistency is very good, as is the spice level. Great quick sauce!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MBKRH
Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2010
Mmmm, so delicious. I've been craving a good, spicy pasta dish for a while now, and this dish fit the bill. Not only is it economical, but it is filling, and you can control how spicy it is according to your tastes. I found that by using extra garlic, salt and pepper, and the basil helps reduce the "metallic taste" from the canned tomatoes. Thanks for the quick, easy recipe, ROgg.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wheaton, Illinois, USA
Living In: Naperville, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2010
Maybe I have been spoiled by my local Italians, but this was disappointing...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hudson, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2009
Excellent. A recipe with fresh basil and canned tomatoes that justifies my herb pots in the sun room all winter. A little spicy (and I like spicy) but too much for my husband. It was so flavorful and aromatic, though, that even he persisted. I will definitely make again with half the crushed red pepper and maybe add some sausage. This is an easy recipe that I would be delighted to eat in a restaurant. To make it at home for literally pennies, and paired with an Albarino, this makes a "Tuesday night special."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Yates Center, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jaylex85
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2009
The BEST and I repeat BEST pasta sauce ever. It's so simple you'd think how can this taste good. But I assure everyone that it's perfect I've made this at least 15 times now and will continue to probably forever :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jaylex85

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Buckeye, Arizona, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 52) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

How to Make a Simple Meat Sauce

Make a simple meat sauce with leftover top round or sirloin steak.

Penne Pasta with Simple Beef Neck Sauce

See how to make a simple, long-simmering meat sauce for pasta.

Chef John's Sunday Meat Sauce

See how to make Chef John’s deeply flavorful basic red sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States