Simple Arrabbiata Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2009
This is a simple,tasty recipe easily adapted to suit your personal taste. One thing that has driven me nuts are the comments on the recipe being too spicy. Arrabbiata sauce is HOT...if you don't like hot...don't make it. This is NOT for you. Also, authentic italian sauces are not thick smooth American spaghetti sauces. Quick, fresh and simple is the way it's supposed to be...hence, use fresh tomatoes if possible...Fresh is best, but canned are fine, as that's what's easiest and available, except for summer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elkland, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Osceola, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2009
Really delicious, fresh-tasting sauce. I felt like I was eating at an italian restaurant. It came out more watery than expected, but otherwise it was excellent. And SO easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2009
This tasted good. I only made 2 servings for 4 people. The 1/2 tsp red pepper flakes was still too strong for my kidlets so next time I'll decrease it and use only 1/4 tsp. Served with " Zucchini 'Noodles' " and a side of "California Grilled Veggie Sandwich" to use up some squashes and zucchinis from my garden. ***UPDATE*** I used the leftover of this recipe with "Kay's Spaghetti and Lasagna Sauce" for the spaghetti sauce in "Ricotta Stuffed Squash."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2009
wow this was so simple! i added an extra clove of garlic. great for a summer night when you don't want to be in the hot kitchen for too long ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by eileen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Queens, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CookinBug
Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2009
Very good! I cut the garlic down to 3 cloves and it was still a little heavy on the garlic for me. I'd only use 2 next time. The sauce was chunky, fresh-tasting, and had just the right amount of spice from the crushed red pepper. Thanks for the recipe! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinBug
Home Town: Ithaca, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2009
This was awesome! I omitted the oil, added a small onion and fresh red pepper and pureed the tomatoes as suggested for a smoother texture and it turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by katharine

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2009
I've never followed this exact recipe, but I make Arrabbiata Sauce all the time (tidbit: arrabbiata is Italian for "angry". The sauce is angry and spicy, get it?). A general rule to follow with simple Italian recipes is to use quality ingredients (the best you can find! If your tomatoes taste like a tin can, then good luck making your sauce taste any different), and to taste at various steps in the cooking process, to adjust taste as needed. Italian recipes are mere *guidelines* to follow, you have to add a pinch of this and that to suit your tastes. Happy cooking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melanie C.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2009
I love this recipe and make it all the time! I add more pepper flakes because I like things spicy. I also like to add chopped up (cooked) Louisiana Hot Links and sliced red bell peppers during the cooking process.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2008
WAY to spicy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2008
Did Puree to give more sauce like texture. Omitted oil as it didn't need more liquid after pureeing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Glenwood Springs, Colorado, USA
Living In: Littleton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 52) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

How to Make a Simple Meat Sauce

Make a simple meat sauce with leftover top round or sirloin steak.

Penne Pasta with Simple Beef Neck Sauce

See how to make a simple, long-simmering meat sauce for pasta.

Chef John's Sunday Meat Sauce

See how to make Chef John’s deeply flavorful basic red sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States