Simon and Garfunkel Pot Roast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2015
This was very good. After 3 hours though I added 1/2 pkg of baby carrots and 4 chopped potatoes to the slow cooker. That way I had my whole meal in one pot. I'll make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Cheyenne, Wyoming, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2014
Honestly, this is a very good and easy recipe...I prepared mashed potatoes with it and poured the gravy and beef on top. I think it was a good mix. However, I noticed that the potatoes seemed sweet in comparison to the pot roast. If you like a bit of sweet and salty flavor this is a good combination. I may make this again it is way easy. I followed the other advices on using a bit less of the dried herbs. I rectified the salt as I did not have onion salt. I added a bit of pepper and seared the beef for 5 minutes each side before putting it in the oven for about 1 hour...I wanted it softer so I put it to simmer in the stove top for one more hour while I did other stuff around the house...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by marchele
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2014
I made this and it turned out really great. I used some of the tips from the previous reviews such as using a teaspoon of each spice... I didn't have the sage and added pepper and parsley flakes as well. I also used onion powder instead of onion salt. I was worried that it would turn out to be salty but it came out perfect. Also didn't use the amount of water it asked for and only used half a cup since I added some potatoes and carrots halfway through the cook time. Definitely going to try this again and maybe even tweak it more by stuffing the roast with garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2013
I thought the addition of the water was unnecessary. Meats cooked for long periods in the crock pot tend to let out lots of juice, anyway. If I had more time, I would have tried to add some cornstarch or flour to thicken the gravy up. I did add red potatoes and carrots while cooking. It was just ok to me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mom22GreatKids

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pensacola, Florida, USA
Living In: Newburgh, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2012
This pot roast was fine. I personally noticed nothing exceptional about it and nothing bad about it. It was fairly easy, though because I added vegetables (potatoes, carrots, and pearl onions) there was a bit of peeling and chopping prep time. It smelled absolutely delicious while cooking, though didn't taste as strong as it smelled. I was also very hesitant about jarred gravy, but mixing it with the water helped thin it out and taste a bit more natural. I'll make it again if I have home made gravy on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lauralovesfood!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bethlehem, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ovenmitt2
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2012
I made this tonight.. loved it. Good old fashioned chuck roast dinner. I removed the meat (which I doubled, but kept the gravy and seasoning the same)and kept it warm and found the gravy to be kinda thin and bland, so I seasoned it with some beef base, onion powder, salt and pepper. Then thickened it, on high, with some flour and water. Two thumbs up by my family!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ovenmitt2

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Madison, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2012
This was okay, my husband did eat 2nds but said it had too much rosemary in it and I agree. Also needs garlic. I followed the recipe as is except I added some garlic salt and used onion powder. I also added chopped green onions, baby carrots and potatoes. I thickened the gravy with a cornstarch slurry too. I liked it, but the rosemary gave me heartburn as it does when I have too much, though I like the taste. I will make again, but reducing the rosemary and trying the parsley with it too. Oh yes, I did sear this in a hot skillet per other reviewer's suggestions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pearl Watson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2012
Ha Ha! Need to add parsley if you are going to call it Simon and Garfunkel! I have a S & G Roasted chicken! Parsley, Sage, Rosemary and Thyme!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2012
Everyone in my family liked this, mmm mmm good! I did change up a bit, I browned the roast first and I used 1c merlot and 1c beef broth in place of the 3c water and I added that to the pan that I browned the roast in. I used two cloves garlic and 1T of parsley.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tanya Zulkowsky

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2012
Add the parsley for a garnish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Port Huron, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Awesome Slow Cooker Pot Roast

See how to make a simple and satisfying 5-star pot roast in your slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Pot Roast

See how to make a super simple, tender pot roast in the crock pot.

Slow Cooker Beef Pot Roast

Come home to a delicious slow-cooked pot roast dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States