Simon and Garfunkel Pot Roast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2012
No, Heinz gravy in a jar is not home-made, but it comes close! Now add a big chunk of beef and slow cook it in the gravy with spices, and that gravy is a whole lot more homemade! I think this is a good recipe for a crock pot, which doesn't necessitate making gravy as an additional step. Love the flavors. Use of spices is your judgement call. Why not mix everything in a small bowl and then decide how much you want to add? I liked the idea of coating the meat with the spices and then browning, i think it added a dimension of flavor! But then again, it was another step of work!! Either way, this is a delicious, EASY roast dinner with gravy, that cooks while you do something else!! Good work Desimone!! I love it and will make this again for sure!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Temple Hills, Maryland, USA
Living In: Orange, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2012
I add parsley, sage rosemary and thyme. Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2012
Sounds good, but.... Where is the parsley?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sue Leenders

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2012
For those who thought there was too much herb, try using fresh herbs, chopped finely, in the same amounts. Dried herbs are pretty intense, especially a tablespoon of each. Needs onion, celery, and garlic, and of course, fresh parsley to finish the song.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nette

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2012
I love spices on my pot roast,lots of garlic,onion powder a hint of chinese five spice and a cup of red wine.I use flour for my gravy not the canned of bottled stuff and always add my favorite vegetables.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Selma, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2012
I added 1 tablespoon parsley so it is true to the song. It added color and not too much flavor. This is a good recipe to use on a cold blistery day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2012
I really enjoyed this recipe although I made a few modifications. The spices added a lot of flavor but wasn't overpowering. I mixed all of the herbs with the oil and spread it on the roast. I then seared the roast on all sides to lock in the flavor (got the idea from Marie's pot roast recipe). Then I added the roasted to the liquid ingredients in addition to a sliced onion and some garlic cloves. Once it was cooked I made some of the juices into gravy. Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2012
i did make my own gravy for this. after i tried it i added some garlic... i think it has too much water but the taste is good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by soupisgoodfood33

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 29, 2012
I added the same amount of parsley as the rest of the ingredients (to make it officially simon and garfunkel style) and it was very good. I will make it again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2012
This was OK overall and liked the use of jarred gravy, but WAY too much spice for my tastebuds. It might be OK if the spice was cut by at least 1/2. Smelled OK while cooking, but could tell it was going to be a strong flavor. If you like strong flavors, you'll love this. Me, not so much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Awesome Slow Cooker Pot Roast

See how to make a simple and satisfying 5-star pot roast in your slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Pot Roast

See how to make a super simple, tender pot roast in the crock pot.

Slow Cooker Beef Pot Roast

Come home to a delicious slow-cooked pot roast dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States