Simon and Garfunkel Pot Roast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2012
Sounds good, but.... Where is the parsley?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2012
For those who thought there was too much herb, try using fresh herbs, chopped finely, in the same amounts. Dried herbs are pretty intense, especially a tablespoon of each. Needs onion, celery, and garlic, and of course, fresh parsley to finish the song.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nette

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2012
I love spices on my pot roast,lots of garlic,onion powder a hint of chinese five spice and a cup of red wine.I use flour for my gravy not the canned of bottled stuff and always add my favorite vegetables.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Selma, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2012
I added 1 tablespoon parsley so it is true to the song. It added color and not too much flavor. This is a good recipe to use on a cold blistery day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2012
I really enjoyed this recipe although I made a few modifications. The spices added a lot of flavor but wasn't overpowering. I mixed all of the herbs with the oil and spread it on the roast. I then seared the roast on all sides to lock in the flavor (got the idea from Marie's pot roast recipe). Then I added the roasted to the liquid ingredients in addition to a sliced onion and some garlic cloves. Once it was cooked I made some of the juices into gravy. Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2012
i did make my own gravy for this. after i tried it i added some garlic... i think it has too much water but the taste is good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by soupisgoodfood33

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 29, 2012
I added the same amount of parsley as the rest of the ingredients (to make it officially simon and garfunkel style) and it was very good. I will make it again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2012
This was OK overall and liked the use of jarred gravy, but WAY too much spice for my tastebuds. It might be OK if the spice was cut by at least 1/2. Smelled OK while cooking, but could tell it was going to be a strong flavor. If you like strong flavors, you'll love this. Me, not so much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2012
We liked this but next time I would cut way back on all the spices other then the onion (I used onion powder instead of onion salt as I didn't have any). I also would not add any water next time. I think I would go with the other reviewer that only used a teaspoon of each spice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Michele McCormick
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2012
This was really yummy. I only put in a teaspoon of each spice though and I added pepper. Made French Load to go with it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michele McCormick

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Milton, Massachusetts, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Awesome Slow Cooker Pot Roast

See how to make a simple and satisfying 5-star pot roast in your slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Pot Roast

See how to make a super simple, tender pot roast in the crock pot.

Slow Cooker Beef Pot Roast

Come home to a delicious slow-cooked pot roast dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States