Simmered Italian Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2014
Given that Hubs and I have been enjoying rice side dishes with a lot of vegetables in them lately, it was no surprise we enjoyed this one too. I added some sautéed red bell pepper, onions, mushrooms and garlic. I did not cook the spinach with the rice, preferring instead to simply barely wilt the spinach in the pan with the other vegetables and stir it all in at the end. Rather than commercial "Italian seasoning" I chose to add some fresh thyme and parsley.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2013
Easy & Yummy. This is a great easy recipe to spice up a rice side dish
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2013
very yummy.. i increased the rice to one cup and used 2 cups prepared chicken bouillon for the broth.. added just a little more italian seasoning to accomodate.. used 1/4 cup of frozen spinach for the fresh but feel like i could have added more.. used half shredded and half grated parm.. b/c i couldn't make up my mind which would be better.. ty for the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Arcadia, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2013
I was skeptical to try this but was running out of ways to serve rice and spinach sounded interesting. It is incredible. I didn't know spinach could pair with rice so well. It has a rich flavor, so don't expect a mild rice. Of course you or your family/guests should love spinach or it "may" disappoint. I personally cut the stems from the spinach and then chopped the pile of leaves horizontal, then vertical on my cutting board to end up with about 1" squares. When these stirred in and shriveled to the heat, they integrated with the rice smoothly without any stringy bites. I ended up making it again the same week, then a third time a couple weeks later! I followed the recipe exactly, even doing it on the stovetop to start getting away from depending on my rice cooker. If this is followed step by step, it does come out right so anyone can impress their friends with a fluffy, flavorful rice. Any spinach lovers on the fence about trying a "spinach rice" should take the plunge on this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kalamazoo, Michigan, USA
Living In: Cadillac, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2012
We JUST finished eating this dish with another Allrecipe, Broiled Tilapia Parmesan. We really enjoyed this rice! The only adjustment I made was to leave out the Italian seasoning and used two full TBSP minced fresh garlic. We will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sheriann

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2012
This was just okay for us...won't be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by kellieann
Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2012
This was pretty good. Next time I will add onion and garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kellieann

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Manson, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2012
I made it pretty much exact to recipe - just added some fresh Italian parsley since I had some handy. Wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Vancouver, Washington, USA
Living In: Plano, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2012
Exceptional! Aside from adding some diced tomatoes this recipe needed no editing. This is an awesome bed for garlic baked chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DwayneNAnne

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2012
instead of adding spinach i added broccoli and i added parmesan cheese it was the best home made rice ever!!!!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Campbell's Original Green Bean Casserole

Update the classic holiday dish with bacon, red peppers, or almonds.

Boxed Stuffing

With a few key ingredients, you can make a delicious stuffing in just 15 minutes.

Campbell's Kitchen French Onion Burgers

Burgers never need to be basic again! Try this great recipe with dipping sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States