Simmered Italian Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2012
This recipe was very easy and delicious. I forgot to put the spinach in until the end, but the rice was hot enough to wilt the spinach and it came out great. We will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2012
This was very good! I used bullion cûbes in place of the broth and chopped broccoli instead of spinach. It was quite tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2014
Given that Hubs and I have been enjoying rice side dishes with a lot of vegetables in them lately, it was no surprise we enjoyed this one too. I added some sautéed red bell pepper, onions, mushrooms and garlic. I did not cook the spinach with the rice, preferring instead to simply barely wilt the spinach in the pan with the other vegetables and stir it all in at the end. Rather than commercial "Italian seasoning" I chose to add some fresh thyme and parsley.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2012
Exceptional! Aside from adding some diced tomatoes this recipe needed no editing. This is an awesome bed for garlic baked chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DwayneNAnne

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2012
This rice was very easy to make and very flavorful. Instead of spinach I diced 1/2 cup tomato and 1/2 cup brocolli, and added a bit of garlic powder. This is definitely a keeper! Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chesapeake, Virginia, USA
Living In: Stokes, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2012
This turned out good. My kids (6 & 3) both really enjoyed it. I left out the spinach and used arborio rice in place of the long-grain. My only negative comment was that it turned out dry, but that can easily be fixed and may have been a result of the type of rice I used.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by may2mac

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2013
I was skeptical to try this but was running out of ways to serve rice and spinach sounded interesting. It is incredible. I didn't know spinach could pair with rice so well. It has a rich flavor, so don't expect a mild rice. Of course you or your family/guests should love spinach or it "may" disappoint. I personally cut the stems from the spinach and then chopped the pile of leaves horizontal, then vertical on my cutting board to end up with about 1" squares. When these stirred in and shriveled to the heat, they integrated with the rice smoothly without any stringy bites. I ended up making it again the same week, then a third time a couple weeks later! I followed the recipe exactly, even doing it on the stovetop to start getting away from depending on my rice cooker. If this is followed step by step, it does come out right so anyone can impress their friends with a fluffy, flavorful rice. Any spinach lovers on the fence about trying a "spinach rice" should take the plunge on this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kalamazoo, Michigan, USA
Living In: Cadillac, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2012
We JUST finished eating this dish with another Allrecipe, Broiled Tilapia Parmesan. We really enjoyed this rice! The only adjustment I made was to leave out the Italian seasoning and used two full TBSP minced fresh garlic. We will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sheriann

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2012
This was just okay for us...won't be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pamsy10
Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by kellieann
Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2012
This was pretty good. Next time I will add onion and garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kellieann

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Manson, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Campbell's Original Green Bean Casserole

Update the classic holiday dish with bacon, red peppers, or almonds.

Boxed Stuffing

With a few key ingredients, you can make a delicious stuffing in just 15 minutes.

Campbell's Kitchen French Onion Burgers

Burgers never need to be basic again! Try this great recipe with dipping sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States