Simmered Cranberry Pork Chops Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2012
Very flavorful and tender. The only thing I did different was to use sugar instead of chemical sweetener, and reduce the recipe by half, since there's only two of us. Put in more water than was called for because I was afraid it would cook off too fast. It didn't, so I had to reduce the sauce a little at the end, but it came out amazing! I would serve this to company.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2012
I can't believe that I forgot to rate such a great recipe. This is a wonderfully versatile recipe that never fails to deliver, and I've even received compliments from people who don't care for cranberries. Different versions have included orange zest, orange juice, cranberry juice, mace, ginger and combinations thereof. All were excellent. Thank you for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2012
Yummy! These were so good. The pork came out nice and tender and the sweet and tartness of the berries was super flavorful. Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bronx, New York, USA
Living In: Stratford, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2012
Excellent! I used canned whole-berry cranberry sauce and omitted the sugar (forgot it! opps!) Because another reviewer mentioned that the cranberries "cooked to mush" I only added about 2/3rds of the cranberry sauce at the beginning. Then, with about 10 minutes left, I added the rest of the sauce, mixing it in well. Because of this, the sauce was perfect, and we spooned it over the meat when it was served. Again, an EXCELLENT recipe! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2012
I had fresh cranberries that I never made into sauce during the holidays, so this recipe was perfect! I sliced a boneless pork roast into 8 "chops" and browned. Doubled sauce ingredients. Used 1/2 Splenda and 1/2 white sugar. Added zest and juice of one large orange just because I love orange with my cranberry. I'm sure it would have been great without it too. Covered chops with water. Thirty minutes later, we had wonderful pork chops with a sweet cranberry sauce (used two bags of fresh cranberries because the sauce is what makes it so fabulous!). The extra sauce went well with the wild rice mix. Great recipe. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Escape

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boise, Idaho, USA
Living In: Meridian, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2012
l keep bags of cranberries in the freezer (bought on sale) and the flavor of the pork and cranberries was a delicious combination. I had large pork chops and used two bags of cranberries. I also used a mix of sugar and splenda, but not as much as called for in the recipe, as I did not want it too sweet. It came out perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tami

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Park Ridge, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Summerfield, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2012
Great recipe, I just added cranberry sauce and some water instead of fresh cranberries. Really easy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2012
My family loved this recipe. I altered it a a bit though. I marinated the pork chops in liquid smoke and worcestershire sauce and Ms. Dash for a hour then pan fried them in grape seed oil with cut up { thinly sliced} garlic cloves . Cooked for 3 mins each side then drained and put on napkins to soak up the oil. Then I added onion powder, salt,black pepper and 1/4 cup of real sugar to the 1/2 cup of water in a new pan and put the cranberries in. Brought it to a boil and added the pork chops and let them simmer for 20-25 mins. Poured a little of the sauce over some wild rice and served it with blanched asparagus. Will do again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2012
very good and it doesn't take to long to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2012
Easy and Delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Pork Chops with Apples

Learn how to make delicious pork chops with sweet potatoes and sauteed apples.

Molasses-Brined Pork Chops

See how to make a quick brine for juicy, juicy pork chops.

How to Make Easy Pan-Fried Pork Chops

See how to make a classic pan-fried pork chop dish in three easy steps.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States