Simmered Cranberry Pork Chops Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2012
I can't believe that I forgot to rate such a great recipe. This is a wonderfully versatile recipe that never fails to deliver, and I've even received compliments from people who don't care for cranberries. Different versions have included orange zest, orange juice, cranberry juice, mace, ginger and combinations thereof. All were excellent. Thank you for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2012
Yummy! These were so good. The pork came out nice and tender and the sweet and tartness of the berries was super flavorful. Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bronx, New York, USA
Living In: Stratford, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2012
Very flavorful and tender. The only thing I did different was to use sugar instead of chemical sweetener, and reduce the recipe by half, since there's only two of us. Put in more water than was called for because I was afraid it would cook off too fast. It didn't, so I had to reduce the sauce a little at the end, but it came out amazing! I would serve this to company.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2012
I had fresh cranberries that I never made into sauce during the holidays, so this recipe was perfect! I sliced a boneless pork roast into 8 "chops" and browned. Doubled sauce ingredients. Used 1/2 Splenda and 1/2 white sugar. Added zest and juice of one large orange just because I love orange with my cranberry. I'm sure it would have been great without it too. Covered chops with water. Thirty minutes later, we had wonderful pork chops with a sweet cranberry sauce (used two bags of fresh cranberries because the sauce is what makes it so fabulous!). The extra sauce went well with the wild rice mix. Great recipe. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Escape

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boise, Idaho, USA
Living In: Meridian, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2011
I was skeptical but this was delicious! I followed the recipe exactly except for substituting Splenda for real sugar. Next time I plan on adding some cranberry juice for extra zest as per a previous reviewer. Perfect dish for date night with your significant other if you're looking for something new to try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2011
Really good and so easy. I only had dried cranberries so I used less berries and added a little more water. No mushy sauce. Even my son (age 24) who is picky loved this. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lutzflcat
Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2011
There's one thing that I didn't like about this recipe and that's the fact that the cranberries cooked to mush. I would not add the cranberries until the last 10-15 minutes of braising. Taste is good, and this really is easy, but it's not too appealing to the eye.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lutzflcat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lutz, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2011
Great taste and easy recipe! Only change I made was to use regular sugar instead of Splenda.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2011
Delicious. Made as written except used sugar instead of Splenda.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eliza

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Tigard, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2011
This was so good. I am a push-over for cranberries and this recipe didn't fail to bring some serious smiles, well-dones, and pats-on-the-back. I browned the pork chops, without a lid, long enough to achieve a good color and have plenty of yummies on the bottom of the skillet. Using the water and a 1/2 cup of whole berry cranberry sauce, I deglazed the skillet and when all the goodies were loose from the bottom of the skillet I added the remaining ingrediences. I returned the pork chops to the skillet and added enough liquid to almost come to the top of the pork chops. I simmered them on Low/Med-Low until they were done having to add liquid twice. The pork chops were savory and sweet, but not too sweet, I will certainly be making these again. For those of you who enjoy tweeking recipes, this has so much potential. My thoughts were along the lines of adding orange zest and toasted pecans to the cranberry sauce. Something else I was thinking about was, using a mixture of water and cranberry juice instead of just water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kitten

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Pork Chops with Apples

Learn how to make delicious pork chops with sweet potatoes and sauteed apples.

Molasses-Brined Pork Chops

See how to make a quick brine for juicy, juicy pork chops.

How to Make Easy Pan-Fried Pork Chops

See how to make a classic pan-fried pork chop dish in three easy steps.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States