Silver White Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2013
In theory I like this but it was not as moist as I want it as is. Two more egg whites and you are good to go. Also, follow others suggestions and beat eggs separately.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by courteepoo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2012
I used butter and half & half for their equivalents in the recipe. I also combined the dry ingredients together, then the wet, then the eggs. The cake was very light, fluffy, and SUPER RICH that way. I also added a touch of almond extract--it tasted just like wedding cake. This is my new go-to cake recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2012
My daughter LOVES this cake...it is her new favourite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa Henderson

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2012
I was hoping this was like my grandmother's recipe unfortunately the cake fell in the oven and was crumbly. It could have been my own mistake but I thought I followed the directions listed exactly. :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chrolivi

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sterling, Illinois, USA
Living In: Alburnett, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2012
I made this using mostly half and half plus some milk as per the previous reviews. I was also a bit worried about it being dry so I added some applesauce. It was almost soggy now so next time I'll make exactly as written,although I thought it had a bit of a baking powder aftertaste when eaten before frosting. Next time maybe I'll cut the baking powder back a little?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lece

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Stockholm, Stockholms, Sweden

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2012
I did not care for this recipe. It had an unappealing texture, and tasted like cornbread muffins
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2012
Baked this cake for our wedding. It was a huge hit! Soft texture and a delicious cake for any occasions, No complaints or comments beyond it was amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2011
For me, this cake turned out moist and light. Reading the problems some reviewers had with a dry cake, I made sure to beat the egg whites to soft peaks only instead of stiff (and dry) as directed, a trick I got recently while watching a cooking show. I don't purchase cake flour anymore, instead I reduced my all-purpose flour to 2 cups. Only problem, I forgot to flour the pans and had a hard time unmolding. I plan to line my pans with parchment next time. Turned out great and I plan to make it again, anytime I have extra egg whites in my fridge.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2011
This is a must try!!! Great recipe! was worried how it would turn out after reading other reviews, but it was awsome! followed recipe and added about 1/2c. My mom said it reminded her of the wedding cakes the bakery made when she was a kid!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2011
This recipe was ok.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Richfield, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Apple Valley, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 87) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Heavenly White Cake

See how to make a wonderful white cake from scratch.

Simple White Cake

See how to make a simple white cake that’s perfect for layer cakes and cupcakes.

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States