Silver White Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 14, 2001
I'm getting married and will be making my own cake and have been looking for a light summer cake to decorate, this is the one! It's very easy,light and because it has no heavy flavors it is easy to add any flavorings I want. Thanks Ginger
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2004
I used 1/2 cup butter instead of shortening, SOY MILK instead of regular milk, and half SPLENDA,half SUGAR for the sugar requirement. Much healthier this way, and I believe the texture of the soy milk is responsible for giving the cake its unique texture. Also, just for fun, I threw in some chocolate chips and sprinkles. Almost a whole new reciple..absolutley delicious and far less calories...and some nutritional value!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2000
After reading the dryness comment, I used half and half instead of regular milk and it turned out really well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2003
I used 1½ cups half & half in place of the milk and added ½ of a small package of white chocolate pudding. This made the cake very moist and dense. Next time I am going to make 1½ times the recipe since my 9 x 13 this time was very thin. Overall a yummy cake after tweaking it a little.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2001
I love this cake! I make it at every birthday and special occasion and just change the icing and decorations. It's so lovely and light, it's a family favourite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2001
This cake is THE best!!! I love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2002
Excellent white cake - I used 1/2 and 1/2 in place of the milk. I also sifted the flour and the baking powder 3 times. I greased and floured the pans and could not get the cake out of the pan (9x13 pan) - next time I will put parchment paper down but the flavor was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2003
I loved the name, gave it a go using half and half, half white chocolate pudding, and mixed by hand. Used at two totally different parties, (ethnicity and age), and it went over great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2004
This recipe was awesome. Flavor is great. I did alter it with the 1 1/2 c half and half instead of milk and adding the 1/2 package white choc. pudding mix, to make it more moist. Make sure you use cake flour...that's what makes it rise so well, and I used round cake pans and it turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by chrismelissa
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2006
Ok, first of all I LOVED THIS RECIPE!! I cut the recipe to half to make a one layer cake, used maybe a 6 inch cake round (?), I don't think I needed all the batter, cause the pan is so small. And I used vanilla buttercream frosting, yummy! So it became the top layer for my 3-tier cake. Fabulous! Everyone was very impressed at my parents suprise anniversary dinner party!! Thanks Ginger!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chrismelissa

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Upper Marlboro, Maryland, USA
Living In: Millersville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 87) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Heavenly White Cake

See how to make a wonderful white cake from scratch.

Simple White Cake

See how to make a simple white cake that’s perfect for layer cakes and cupcakes.

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States