Silver White Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2008
We use a recipe almost identical to this in our catering service, it's best to use half & half instead of the milk, but you MUST beat the whites separately until the peak, and fold them in slowly. The more air you trap inside the egg whites, the lighter your cake will be. Use a finer grained sugar and CAKE flour (not all purpose) and you'll get rid of the grainy texture. Extra sifting helps with this as well. Adding citrus zest or a little bit of sprite helps sweeten it without making it taste like sugar. This is one of the most versatile and useful basic cake recipes I've used.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
129 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2007
This cake is EXCELLENT!! The only substitution I make is real butter for the shortening, softened, and add 4tsp total of baking powder. Make sure you mix all dry ingredients together first before adding wet. I did not get a cornmeal consistency at all. Also, be sure to beat the egg white until stiff and it is important to mix in some first then gently fold in the rest, this is what makes the cake light and fluffy. It is my sons birthday today and this cake is always THE birthday cake, with a nice buttercream frosting, I get a lot of requests for this cake. Sometimes I just do a 9x13, sometimes cupcakes, and sometimes the layers. It is the BEST cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
73 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SUNNYSAN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2003
I won't make this one again. I had read other members' reviews that compared this cake to sweet cornbread. I thought surely they had done something wrong, and that the recipe itself was not at fault. Sorry to say, they hit the nail on the head! This cake was easy to make, but that's about the only positive thing I can say. It was fairly dry, dense, crumbly, did not handle frosting very well, and did have a flavor and texture like cornbread. Also, the batter was certainly not enough for 2 9-inch pans. My 4 year old niece enjoyed having it for dessert, but that's because she only ate the frosting. I wouldn't suggest bothering with this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
61 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2010
Even tho' this cake could use a little more flavor I'm still giving it a 5-star rating because its got so much else going for it. Baking white or yellow cakes is almost a gamble, particularly because of its high chance of being dry. This cake is NOT dry, however, note that I added two more egg whites and used half and half rather than milk. I'm sure each of these slight modifications, in addition to carefully making sure I didn't overbake it, are responsible for that. The cake is moist, brilliant white, light and fluffy. So...if you add a little more vanilla and/or a touch of almond extract this would definitely be all you'd ask for in a white cake. Because it's a more delicate cake this is best, I believe, with a lighter type frosting. I baked this as cupcakes, for about 16 minutes, in silicone baking cups which I've now learned I don't like.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2002
Excellent white cake - I used 1/2 and 1/2 in place of the milk. I also sifted the flour and the baking powder 3 times. I greased and floured the pans and could not get the cake out of the pan (9x13 pan) - next time I will put parchment paper down but the flavor was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2008
I found this recipe to be wonderful. The key is mixing the dry and wet ingredient seperate then mixing until just combined (dont overmix). Then making sure your egg whites, bowl, and beaters are very cold. Also, when beating egg white you have to use a metal or glass bowl or they will not set up no matter how much u beat them. It's also very important not to mix the egg whites into the batter. Instead fold them in slowly. I have made this recipe several times and the end result has always been the same. Very light and tender cake!!! A++++++
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2011
YES!! Finally a usable cake recipe. Granted a couple adjustments need to be implemented. First, mixing the wet and dry ingredients separatly before mixing them together. No need to beat them just mix until incorporated. Second, make sure your egg whites are very stiff. Third, when mixing the egg whites into the batter FOLD, don't mix. It's ok to have a small lump here and there. Finally, make sure to start checking your cake about 5-10 min before time to ensure you don't over bake. You will achieve a very moist and light cake. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by COOKINMOMMYMANDY

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: The Woodlands, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2003
I used 1½ cups half & half in place of the milk and added ½ of a small package of white chocolate pudding. This made the cake very moist and dense. Next time I am going to make 1½ times the recipe since my 9 x 13 this time was very thin. Overall a yummy cake after tweaking it a little.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2000
This cake is dry. I don't like the method of mixing. This is no way to treat a cake batter. The user who beat the egg whites separately was on the right track. But I have another recipe for white cake that is so superior I don't need to adjust this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2005
The cake was very dense & not moist at all. This might be because I used regular flour instead of cake flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 87) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Heavenly White Cake

See how to make a wonderful white cake from scratch.

Simple White Cake

See how to make a simple white cake that’s perfect for layer cakes and cupcakes.

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States