Silver White Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2000
this cake is really dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2000
After reading the dryness comment, I used half and half instead of regular milk and it turned out really well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2000
I loved this recipe! I used almond extract instead of vanilla. I also beat the egg whites separately and folded them into the batter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2000
It was tasty, but dry
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2000
This cake is dry. I don't like the method of mixing. This is no way to treat a cake batter. The user who beat the egg whites separately was on the right track. But I have another recipe for white cake that is so superior I don't need to adjust this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2000
I thought this cake was pretty good. However, a bit too much baking soda. Next time I make it I will definetely put less in because it had a weird flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2001
This is a good white cake. I filled it with a Lemon Whipped Cream filling (Lemon Custard from this site cut with whipped cream to lighten it); frosted it with Mom's Buttercream Frosting (this site); and topped it with coconut and Royal Icing spring flowers. I brought it to work for a birthday and everyone loved it. The cake was moist and easy to work with once baked. I did find making it to be somewhat labor intensive. I have a hand mixer so the beating was harder than it would have been with a stand mixer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2001
I'm getting married and will be making my own cake and have been looking for a light summer cake to decorate, this is the one! It's very easy,light and because it has no heavy flavors it is easy to add any flavorings I want. Thanks Ginger
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2001
I used light butter for the shortening and added 1/2 tsp almond extract. I baked it in a 9x13 pan w/parchment paper on the bottom so I could take it out and cut it in half. I knew it was risky, but it really came out great. It was thin and dense but very tasty and yummy w/vanilla pudding in the middle. I frosted it w/chocolate peanut butter frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2001
I love this cake! I make it at every birthday and special occasion and just change the icing and decorations. It's so lovely and light, it's a family favourite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 87) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Heavenly White Cake

See how to make a wonderful white cake from scratch.

Simple White Cake

See how to make a simple white cake that’s perfect for layer cakes and cupcakes.

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States