Silky and Creamy Wild Rice Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2012
Excellent soup, once I made a few changes. With just milk, it would be bland. I used 3/4 c wild rice, added chopped carrots, halved the milk and substituted chicken broth. Yummy! Oh- and because we had leftover Christmas ham, I diced some up (about 2 cups) and added it to the soup. It was delicious! Will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JENNIESCHOLL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2012
I liked the recipe. A little less peper maybe. Also I believe step number 2 should instruct people to use a pan to cook the vegetables seperately because the cooked rice isn't supposed to be added until the end.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2011
This is a very good soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2010
Delicious! Thank you for sharing the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2009
I like to add corn also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SSPENCER1

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2008
Very, very good! I am always looking for a good soup or chowder recipe, and this one always pleases. I substituted a bit of cream in place of milk to make it a touch creamier. This is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Darkgardyner

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2007
This was just ok for me. My husband said it deserves a 4 but I think I have to say 3. It didn't taste bad; it was just kind of boring. The flavor of the milk completely overpowered everything else. I love cream soups and I LOVE wild rice but I couldn't even really taste the flavor of the rice because the milk took over everything. I added carrots, garlic and mushrooms to the veggies at the beginning. If I were to make this again, I would replace half the milk with vegetable broth to cut the milk taste and add some flavor. Also agree that the salt quantity is too high-i did reduce that. As a side note, the leftover soup thickened up considerably and created kind of a creamy veggie rice-nice base/side for our leftover Thanksgiving turkey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fresno, California, USA
Living In: Clovis, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2006
Very disappointing, bland. Tasted like milk with some celery and rice in it. My family would not eat it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2006
This was really simple and yummy. I added sauteed mushrooms and some garlic to mine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by marika

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2005
This soup is excellent. I cooked some carrots along with the onions and celery, and added some cut-up cooked chicken with the wild rice near the end of cooking. My kids love this soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Chicken and Wild Rice Soup

See how to make a simple creamy chicken soup with wild rice.

Rich and Creamy Tomato Basil Soup

This creamy soup is made with fresh tomatoes, cream, and butter.

Creamy Asparagus and Cauliflower Soup

This simple veggie soup tastes rich and creamy, but it's completely dairy-free.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States