Silky Sweet Potato Puree Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2009
I used heavy whipping cream since I didn't have whole milk on hand, and left out the buttermilk. They turned out very smooth and creamy, delicious! I used canned sweet potatoes, mashed them with a fork, and then put them in the food processor. Using the mixer seemed to pull out a lot of the small husk pieces that were still on the potatoes, they were wrapped around the beaters. I will be making these again! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Matthew's Wife

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ronan, Montana, USA
Living In: Billings, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2009
Unbelievable. Smooth, tasty and such a pretty color. Not too sweet like so many sweet potato recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2009
Roasting makes all the diff! Used whipping cream as that's what was at hand. Rave reviews - simple, delish dish! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2008
Like other people suggested, I lighted this up just a tad. I used I Can't believe it's not butter and I used 1/2 buttermilk and the other 1/2 Half & Half. I also added just a tiny bit of brown sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Gilbert, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2008
The name of this recipe is perfect "Silky" -- it is truly a wonderful side. The only change I made was cutting the butter back to 3 tbs and it couldn't have been better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2008
Amazingly easy and delicious! I'm going to bake my sweet potatoes from now on instead of boiling. Baking causes water to evaporate, leaving an intensely sweet and flavorful potato. Absolutely no sugar needed. In the past, I've boiled my sweet potatoes, which made them lose a lot of their flavor. Pureeing in a food processor gave them a creamy and airy quality that I never got with mashing by hand. The only changes I made to make it healthier was to use fat free buttermilk, 1% milk, and half the butter. It was still unbelievably creamy with these substitutions. My husband, who doesn't care for sweet potatoes went back for thirds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chibi chef

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rockville, Maryland, USA
Living In: Gaithersburg, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2008
This was a nice complement to my mahi-mahi, and so delicious you can almost eat it as a dessert!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2007
I made this for Thanksgiving and thought that it was OK. My uncle really liked it, though. It was really creamy and looked pretty but I thought that there was something not quite right about the flavor. Perhaps I just don't care for the buttermilk in it. I actually thought the potatoes tasted better before I added all the stuff. It wasn't a complete failure, but I don't think I'll be making it again unless I decide to try it with all plain milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Overland Park, Kansas, USA
Living In: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2007
The recipe was so delicious, creamy and easy to make. It was only for my husband and I, so I used 4 small sweet potatoes, roasted them until their skin easily came off (about 35 minutes) threw in my food processor and added low fat milk (it was all I had on hand) and added a little butter, salt and pepper. I was so incredibly creamy and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: La Verne, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2006
This recipe was great. I made it the day before and reheated it in the oven. Might make it instead of mashed next year, as it's awfully similar in texture (but not taste).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Potato Puff

Learn how to make sweet potato puff topped with crunchy pralines.

Mashed Sweet Potatoes

Simple mashed sweet potatoes are flavored with maple syrup and butter.

Chef John's Sweet Potato Casserole

See how to make not-too-sweet sweet potato casserole with a pistachio crust.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States