Silky Sweet Potato Puree Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by mickdee
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2011
These were just wonderful! I made them Tuesday to serve Thanksgiving Day. So sweet and the texture is dreamy. I was done with over sweetened, doctored sweet potatoes; these don't need a thing! I used 1/2 the liquid and used Fat Free Half & Half and just 2 tablespoons of butter. Wonderful!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mickdee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by footballgrl16
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2011
This preparation is def unexpected when it comes to sweet potatoes, but I really enjoyed the change. I did add a few T of brown sugar and a few dashes of cinnamon. Simple and delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by footballgrl16

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Blender Woman
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2011
I was so glad to have found this recipe. A restaurant by my house, that is no longer in business, used to sell a soft mashed sweet potato puree. It wasn't spicy or sweet but more buttery just like this recipe. I used to always order it. I started with 3 sweet potatoes. After they were baked I weighed them and they came out to be 1lb peeled. So, I just halved the rest of the ingredients. I added everything but no pepper. For the buttermilk I just did 2% milk and a couple drops of vinegar and let it sit. With the butter I used whipped butter to cut the saturated fat in half. I always roast sweet potatoes at 410 deg., for about an hour, and did the same with this recipe. I don't have a food processor, so I used the blender but I had to stop and stir a few times. I will definitely be making this every year. Thank you for posting a simple, basic, creamy recipe for mashed sweet potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blender Woman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Photo by Baking Nana
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2011
This is a great base recipe - I agree with others that there is too much liquid. I didn't even use 1/2 of the liquid called for. You could certainly add nutmeg and or cinnamon to punch up the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baking Nana

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Corona, California, USA
Photo by bellepepper
Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2011
Made this last night and served it with Grilled Pork Tenderloin by Betsy Carrington from this site and it was a wonderful combination. The potatoes were quite sweet without adding any sugar and very silky. My only complaint was that I thought there was too much liquid. I mixed the buttermilk and milk together and added a little over half of it and my potatoes were too “loose.” I’d have preferred them a little stiffer, but that is easily remedied. I will definitely make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bellepepper

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Upper Arlington, Ohio, USA
Living In: Dublin, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2010
A great recipe. Puree was very smooth. I used it in a Sweet Potato pound cake recipe and it worked great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2010
I've been making this puree for a very long time, since my oldest was very little. I don't use that much milk, just enough to thin it down enough to feed my child. Once he got older, I made it so I could add it to his macaroni and cheese mainly, but I'd stir it in to other foods to boost his vitamin/vegetable intake for the day. This is a good base recipe for most vegetable puree. If you'd rather not use milk or you have a lactose-intolerant family member, soy/rice/almond milk or broth works just as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2010
I love sweet potatoes, so I knew I would like it no matter what. And it was good, the only thing I didn't like was it looked like baby food on the plate. Maybe I pureed it a bit too much, but the taste did not match the look of it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LisaFaye

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2010
ABSOLUTLY FANTASTIC! This is a very easy dish. I made it as written, only sbustituting fat free milk & buttermilk. DELICIOUS! I served it with Chilean Seabass, fresh greenbeans with garlic and a blue cheese, arugula and pear salad. I can't wait to make it again. p.s. I had to borrow a food processor and this seemed to be what makes this dish so easy and "silky sweet". Thank you for this wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2009
I followed the recipe exactly, and took it to a Christmas party. Everyone loved them! Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathryn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Fix Burnt Sweet Potato Casserole

Topping burn on your sweet potato casserole? We’ve got just the fix.

Sweet Potato Puff

Learn how to make sweet potato puff topped with crunchy pralines.

Julie's Sweet Potato Casserole

See how to make a sweet and savory sweet potato casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States