Silky Sweet Potato Puree Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 4, 2014
Absolutely delicious! I didn't even add much butter because it was so yummy before putting the butter in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2013
Quite good! Even my sweet potato hating husbands went back for seconds. Instead of the food processor, I put the baked and peeled potatoes through a ricer. Worked beautifully. May make this for Thanksgiving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Annapolis, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2013
I just made this and will serve with ham steak in a little while. I baked 1 yam (the orange variety) at 425 deg. for 45 minutes, according to instructions. I didn't peel it; I put the whole potato into the Vitamix with 1/3 c. whole milk and 2 Tbsp. softened butter, salt and pepper (the ingredients cut by 1/3.) I licked the spatula, and I can tell you this is restaurant quality. I didn't add any ingredients. Enjoy, you Vitamix enthusiasts!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2013
I made this according to the directions (except I used 6 Ready to Microwave Baking Sweet Potatoes and then used the mixer to blend.) These were delicious and had a wonderful texture! My family loved this recipe and my daughter that LOVES sweet potatoes (baked only) couldn't get enough of them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Nashville, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2012
Used my KA with regular cake beater rather than a food processor. Other than that, stuck right with the recipe. So good! Fluffy, flavorful, and do-ahead friendly. Leftovers freeze nicely, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hezzy_tant_Cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2012
Whoa. I'd only had sweet potatoe purée/mash once before, with coconut in it, and the texture was really not good and it was too sweet. I really needed another savory dish to go with all the sweet stuff this Thanksgiving, and this was just perfect. Simple, easy, made it 2 days before as suggested. I don't have a food processer bush just used a sort of electric masher, and then a mixer, and it was fine (a few tony chunks but silky enough!) The butter and salt and milk made it oh so lovely, put it in individual cups and topped with roasted pine nuts. It was gone before the pumpkin pie...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2012
This was a great base recipe for what I wanted. I was hoping to find a sweet potato recipe that had no added sugar, because I was making it with my diabetic sister in mind. I found that it needed a little something extra though. Well, I actually changed quite a bit, so here it is: I used 2 (13 oz) cans of sweet potatoes (no syrup), 2 tbsp skim milk, 2 tbsp fat free half and half, 1/4 cup low cal tub style margarine spread, 1 tsp cinnamon, 1/2 tsp nutmeg, and 1/4 cup sugar free maple syrup. I used electric beaters to whip all the ingredients together into a silky smooth puree. Then when dinner time approached I microwaved it covered for 5-6 minutes, stirring every minute. Absolutely delicious and smooth. With this basic recipe I can tweak it to make it sweet or savory.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lulu

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2012
Excellent. I didn't even use the whole milk only a little buttermilk and the butter. I didn't measure, but I don't think it was more than 1/3 cup or so. It was the perfect consistency for me. When I was growing up, candied sweet potatoes were always served with greens--usually turnip or collards--so I sauteed some collard greens with onions and a spalsh of Dale's, a drop of liquid smoke, and a nice splash of apple cider vinegar. Took me back to my childhood only it was better! I would suggest adding a little of the milks and then checking your consistency--mine would have been a soup had I added a whole cup of milk!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wisweetp

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Waukesha, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2012
Thank you! An excellent recipe. Works well with a hand held mixer as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mickdee
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2011
These were just wonderful! I made them Tuesday to serve Thanksgiving Day. So sweet and the texture is dreamy. I was done with over sweetened, doctored sweet potatoes; these don't need a thing! I used 1/2 the liquid and used Fat Free Half & Half and just 2 tablespoons of butter. Wonderful!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mickdee

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 1-10 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sweet Potato Puff

Learn how to make sweet potato puff topped with crunchy pralines.

Mashed Sweet Potatoes

Simple mashed sweet potatoes are flavored with maple syrup and butter.

Julie's Sweet Potato Casserole

See how to make a sweet and savory sweet potato casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States