Side of the Trail Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2012
Just what I was hoping for! The perfect camper's cookie. These were a great snack for mid-day munchies on the trail! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2010
Mmmmm, mmmm. Tasty and hearty. Finally got around to making these and my family loved them. I did add a cup of coconut, but followed recipe other than that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Iona, Idaho, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2008
These cookies are very good. Not terribly sweet, which I prefer! The peanut butter flavor is very strong, I may cut back a little next time. I scaled the recipe down to 12 cookies and used Smart Balance 50/50 butter blend instead of shortening. These cookies taste even better the second day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2008
I hate to leave a less than 5 star review for a recipe that only has 5 star ratings so far... but me and my husband did not like these. They were not sweet at all and the texture was a little strange. I will not be using this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KaylaMayaCamrynMOM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Washington, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by PULLEYHEATHER
Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2008
Very nice cookie! I only had 1 cup of peanut butter left, but I actually think that's enough. I also only used 2 cups of oats, and again, plenty for me. I used 1 cup of chocolate chips and 1 cup of butterscotch chips and I really liked how all the flavors mixed together. Definately a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PULLEYHEATHER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2008
These cookies are the bomb! So versatile! I used 1 cup brown sugar and 1/2 cup splenda and I used 1 cup unbleached flour and 1 cup wheat flour. They turned out great! Definitely a keeper! Thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mikki

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Norwich, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Coloma, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2007
These were very yummy. I used half chocolate chips and half butterscotch chips because it was what I had on hand. Made them for a camping trip and it will be hard to make them last until we leave for the campground!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Glendive, Montana, USA
Living In: Bloomington, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2007
My kids (7 and 4) loved these as after school snacks -- and the oatmeal made them substantial enough to fill them up. Even my husband, who isn't fond of peanut butter OR oatmeal, kept going back for more. I did add a few extra chocolate chips, and used a glass dipped in white sugar for flattening. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2006
These were great! My changes: Used 1 stick of butter and 1 cup of butter flavored crisco; used 1 cup of white sugar + the 1 cup of brown sugar; used 1 cup of craisins + 1 cup of chocolate chips. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kingsport, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2006
Yummy cookies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

No Bake Cookies I

These tasty no-bake cookies are made with oatmeal, peanut butter, and cocoa.

Outrageous Chocolate Chip Cookies

Peanut butter, oats, and chocolate chips create an outrageous treat.

Oatmeal Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make sensational oatmeal peanut butter cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States